Daily Archives: March 21, 2007

Dessert Tip

A while back, the Goddess posted this recipe for Apple Pie Cupcakes on her blog. It sounded so good, especially the “don’t you dare use margarine” phrase, and the fact that there was more butter/sugar/egg mix than flour. So I made them. And they were great as a mid-morning muffin snack! (Which is how the Goddess recommended they be used) We really enjoyed them.
Last week we had guests for supper, and I performed that horrible hostess no-no. I experimented on them. I baked the same cupcakes, but without the apples, and we used them as a strawberry shortcake base with strawberries and whipped cream. They were fantastic. They have just the right consistency to catch the juice from the strawberries, without getting all soggy, and they aren’t so sweet that they over ride the natural sweetness of the strawberries.

So, for the first time ever, I have a kitchen tip. This is a versatile recipe for everything from breakfast through dinner. Stop by the Goddess’ blog and print it for yourself. And for more helpful tips, visit Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer every Wednesday for lots of helpful “Works for Me” things.

Because I Love Family, That’s Why

Last year for Spring Break we left a rainy central Georgia for sunny Florida, and came home with a Spring Break sunburn. This year, we’re going to leave sunny, warm, central Georgia for cold, rainy/snowy/sleety Atlantic Canada to see my sister and her husband and kids.

Yesterday evening at 6:30 it was 80 degrees where I live. Yesterday it was 28 degrees and snowing where she lives. It’s not exactly the stereotypical Spring Break, but I get to meet my newest niece for the first time, and play with the two nephews and the other niece. So no sunburn this year. I think it’ll still be a good break.