Daily Archives: March 23, 2007

Garbage In – Garbage Out

This morning I woke up with “Voulez-Vous” by Abba running around in my head. Why? I don’t know, but it’s (surprisingly) not the most annoying song to have ever lodged itself in my brain. Unfortunately, it made me reflect on some of the other songs that periodically show up, which brought out of the cobwebbed recesses of my mind “All I Want to Do . . .” by Heart. One of the most addictive tunes to have come out of the rock/metal ballad years of the late 80’s and early 90’s. And not a wholesome jot or tittle in the entire thing, lyric wise.

The song itself, reminds me of a funny story from my high school years. It would have been the summer of 1991, between my Jr. and Sr. years of High School. I was working at a travel information center with three other girls, all older than me, and not one a professing believer. I didn’t really consider that my presence may have caused the other girls concern, until one rainy afternoon when the oldest girl and I were sitting, all alone, in the office, chatting. The Heart song came on the radio, and I laughed “This really is a horrible song.”

The other girl jumped on that like I had just said the very words she had been dreading to hear! “What’s so horrible about it? Maybe they’re deeply in love with each other! Sex isn’t a horrible, dirty thing, it’s a beautiful thing. If you believe that God created life, you shouldn’t think that sex is horrible, you should think that it’s part of God’s creation.”

I was stunned. After a moment I said “She picks up a hitchhiker for a one night stand in a hotel and then goes back to her husband.”

There was total silence. Even she couldn’t defend that as a beautiful expression of love. That’s all I remember from that conversation. It wasn’t until much later that I realized she must have been waiting all summer for some “puritanical” thing to come out of my mouth, so she could show me the “truth”. The sad thing is, if she had really been paying attention, her question would have been, “How do you know? Why are you so familiar with the lyrics of this song?” That would have left me flat footed, and convicted.

The fact is, that I didn’t make much of an effort to shield the garbage that I put into my brain, and now, years later, I wake up with that garbage running through my mind. As I have contemplated today how much junk is running around in my brain, I have made a resolution, and I’m posting it here for accountability (In other words, periodically send me e-mails asking me how I’m going with this and don’t take a laugh as an answer):

Every time I wake up with an ungodly song in my head, I will memorize a passage of scripture to replace it. As it says in Psalm 119:10, 11:

With my whole heart I seek you;
let me not wander from your commandments!
I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.

So today I begin with the “Aleph” portion of Psalm 119 (Vs. 1 – 8) to replace Heart. Once I master that I’ll move on to the “Beth” portion (vs. 9 – 16) to replace Voulez-Vous. Unfortunately there’s enough trash in my brain that I’ll be working on this for the rest of my life.

