Works For Me: Studying Tool

I’ve hit on a pretty effective way for my elementary students to review their science before Unit Tests. It would work for any elementary subject, or just general review like multiplication tables, or spelling words.

I’ve turned Snakes and Ladders (or Chutes and Ladders) into a trivia game. You roll the dice, but before you can move, you have to answer a question correctly. If you come to a ladder, you have to answer another question correctly before you can go up the ladder. If you come to a snake (or chute), you can stop yourself from sliding down to the bottom if you answer a question correctly.

Snakes and Ladders boards are pretty inexpensive, but I made my own snakes and ladders board for free using a basic spreadsheet program. The pieces are plastic bottle caps with stickers on the top to make each one unique. It’s been a successful tool for my students, and I’ve filed it away in my memory for when my Pomegranate gets old enough to review multiplication tables. (I’m also praying she doesn’t inherit my skill – or lack thereof – in math.)

For more helpful tips, visit Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer every Wednesday for lots of helpful “Works for Me” things.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

