Daily Archives: May 11, 2007

Stylin’

I’ve posted my maternity clothing woes here before, and it struck me that the two women who have contributed the vast majority of my (free) maternity wardrobe read this blog, and I’m sounding like fat girl whiny pants over here. I am *so thankful* for the maternity clothes I have, and for the limited expense I have had to have a full wardrobe.

I just found, online and on clearance, (double woohoo) two maternity tanks from Old Navy. These two shirts are going to seriously multiply my maternity wardrobe, because I am able to wear the tank under non maternity button down shirts! (triple woohoo) They come all the way down over the stretch fabric on the maternity pants/capris/shorts and have a built in shelf bra. (Sorry if that’s an over share Dad.) This means all of my free maternity pants/capris/shorts will be cycled through more shirts!

Today I’m wearing a brown tank under a pink button down, and the girls at school gave it their thumbs up seal of approval. So I’m set for a hot pregnant summer, and apparently I’ll look “stylin’ ” while I’m at it.

Such Fun in the Cracker Barrel

Yesterday evening we drove down to south Georgia to meet my friend Chickadee and her husband, she’s the one I posted about who got a HUGE surprise about 18 weeks ago, when she found out she was pregnant. She’s 6 weeks or so behind me, and it was so much fun to see her last night, and talk about pregnancy.

We talked, and talked, and the poor server had to come back three times before we ordered. And then we talked and talked some more. At one point she looked at her husband and said “You’re not saying much.” He grinned and said, “The two of you aren’t giving us men much of a chance.” And he was right of course. Although, when she was complaining about having gained “so much weight” already at 22 weeks and I was listing all the things that come into pregnancy weight and I included “amniotic fluid” her husband sat back and said “La la la.” I guess that’s not exactly table talk, is it?

And we talked about family, and we talked about the town where we both grew up, and she still lives and we talked about the church there, and we talked about fishing (because the men got a few words in eventually) and we talked about the fires in South Georgia and North Florida, and we talked about what it was like to be Canadians in the South, and all the things we loved about both cultures, and we talked . . . well you get the idea.

And then we took a great picture! But you’ll have to wait to see it, because it’s on HER camera, because my pregnancy brain made me forget mine. But the very second she sends it to me, I’ll post it. It is of her and me together, back to back, so you can see our pregnant bellies. I want to put it in my baby book with a picture of the two of us together in high school. I think it will be so cool.

Plus, she’s having a boy, so we’ve informed them that we’ll add his name to our list of potential husbands for our Pomegranate. 🙂 We’ll have to see what the Lord does.