Happy Mother’s Day

GiBee at Kisses of Sunshine ran a mother’s day writing contest about the best advice given to you by a Mom, or mother figure. It had to be 1500 words or less, hence the brevity, but this is my entry. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.

Sometimes my mother and I didn’t get along because we were so different. Sometimes my mother and I didn’t get along because we were so much alike. In other words, we were just like every other mother and daughter that ever has been, and ever will be – including my daughter and I.

A lot of the advice my mother has given me over the years I had to grow into to realize the wisdom, but the best thing she ever told me was this: “Don’t let the sun go down on your anger.” I know it’s a quote from scripture, and it’s a good one to give your 20 year old engaged daughter who thinks she knows everything about life and is about to have her world completely rocked by the realities of marriage to another human being who thinks he knows everything about life.

It’s the thing that kept us from separating the first year we were married. It’s the thing that drove us to our knees, when we knew that we were WAY over our heads in this marriage thing. It’s been thirteen years since she gave us that advice, and twelve years since we vowed to honor and cherish each other. We don’t often fight anymore, but when we do, we still won’t go to sleep angry and it all goes back to my Mom, and the best advice she ever gave me.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

