Works For Me: Leftover Pizza

This kitchen tip really works for me, and I think could benefit a lot of busy wives and mothers who are looking for ways to “re-serve” leftovers without it looking like warmed over “yesterday.”

Here’s what I do. When I go grocery shopping, I always swing by the frozen pizza section. Very frequently, the different brands offer have sales on cheese pizzas – 3 for $7 is a common sale. If a sale is being offered I pick some up and keep them in my freezer.

Here comes the leftover parts: any leftover meat tastes good on pizza. Only one or two leftover hamburgers? Crumble them up, put them on the pizza, toss a little grated cheese on the top, and cook according to the directions. You’ve just fed four people one or two leftover hamburgers. It works for chicken, turkey, ham, even barbecue pork tastes good as pizza.

This even works for breakfast leftovers. Some leftover scrambled eggs with bacon or sausage, bell pepper and a little cheese makes a really good breakfast pizza. Leftover bacon and sausage from breakfast makes a great lunch or supper pizza. Add a salad, some garlic bread and no one feels like they’re eating leftovers.

This is also a great quick meal when you’re tempted to order something in. It’s just as quick, and a whole lot cheaper, and because you put on it what you want, it tastes better. All of those factors makes this work for me.

For more helpful tips, visit Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer every Wednesday for lots of helpful “Works for Me” things.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “Works For Me: Leftover Pizza

  • Marcia

    Hi Coralie

    That is a good idea!

    And now i’m off to read your infertility label.

    Marcia

  • Mom2fur

    Oooooh, I love it! My almost-17 son, who is otherwise an amazing kid, won’t eat leftovers. He says the moment something goes in the fridge, it’s a leftover. Drives me nuts! But this idea…well, sometimes a little deception is a good thing!

  • Justice Fergie

    great idea!! and you’re right — just about anything tastes good on a pizza 🙂

  • Totallyscrappy

    Sounds good to me!

  • Liam's Mom - Gina

    Sounds really good… I love any kind of pizza!

