Pregnancy Mythbusting

There was a time when I thought pregnant women exaggerated certain things. I’m not weighing in on the “34 hours of hard labor and the epidural didn’t take . . .” stories, but there are a few that I am realizing aren’t exaggerations.

  1. “I couldn’t see my feet.” I really thought that women who said they couldn’t see their feet when they were pregnant were . . . well, I thought they were lying for dramatic affect. But here’s the fact: unless I bend over at least 45 degrees, I can’t see my feet. I also can’t see my upper thighs without some serious bending, lifting and twisting.
  2. “I couldn’t roll over in bed.” Okay, it’s not that I can’t roll over, but doing so is a fairly major workout that leaves me a little short of breath for a moment. Let’s just say there’s no rolling over in my sleep. I must be awake and conscious to coordinate the deployment of all body parts at the right time.
  3. “I couldn’t bend over.” Wow, did I think this was a cop out. But OH MY GOODNESS! You don’t realize how much bending at the waist you do in life until doing so cuts off your oxygen for a moment. I was doing basic laundry and tidying the last two days, and I actually had to sit on the floor and scoot on my behind because continual bending at the waist was making me dizzy, and making Pomegranate stretch and kick.
  4. Nesting. I remember listening to women talking about going through nesting and I thought “yeah, but you care about that stuff when you’re not pregnant.” Well, like I said, I just spent the last two days cleaning my apartment. I’m not washing base boards (because I can’t bend over), but I washed every set of sheets in my closet because they smelled musty, and then folded them with dryer sheets and Febreeze to keep them fresher longer.

So my apologies to all of those pregnant women I have known and secretly thought to be whiners. And all of you out there thinking that I’m just whining and exaggerating: I understand, and I pray that one day the Lord blesses you with the same knowledge he has just given me.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Pregnancy Mythbusting

