Daily Archives: May 25, 2007

I Have So Much to Learn

The ladies in my church are giving me a shower on June 16th. You’re all invited. 🙂 Seriously, I’m very excited about it. My sister will be there, and she’s bringing her oldest daughter “the Princess” with her. It will be the Princess’ first baby shower. Other than her own, but she doesn’t have any memories of that.

Because of this, today I spent two hours at Target, registering for baby things. I pointed the little gun at bar codes, and clicked away. Here’s the problem with registering: I don’t want to look too greedy, and register for so much everyone feels obligated to buy huge expensive gifts, but I don’t want to look too picky, and only register for a few things.

Here’s the other problem: I’ve never had a baby before. Do I need three onesies, or thirty? I’m thinking somewhere in the middle, but I just don’t know exactly where. And what about sippy-cups? Four? Two? Twelve? I thought I wanted a Diaper Genie, but they take special bag refills, so I registered for the Baby Trend Diaper Champ. Seems like a good idea, but how do I know?

And here’s another thing: what kind of car seat do we want? Do I want an infant seat, or a convertible seat?

And strollers: my Mom and Dad want to buy us a stroller (awesome) but I don’t know what kind I want! I looked at all of the strollers in the store, and they all had those hard plastic wheels that felt a little like a Barbie Jeep. But Jonathan says that rubber tires will just puncture. This one seems like a good option to me, but how do I really know what I want until she arrives?

Anyway, I went through all of that while I was pointing and scanning at Target. After two hours I carried the gun back to customer service, feeling a lot overwhelmed, a little like I had gone way overboard, and scanned way too much, and everyone would think I was a little princess with unrealistic expectations.

I got to Customer Service and turned over the gun. She looked at it, looked back at me, and said “You didn’t scan much.” So at the very least, all I know that there are other princess out there with larger unrealistic expectations than mine.

Big Stretches.

Another WebMD quote about being 30 weeks pregnant:

Baby is performing fewer acrobatics as conditions in the womb become more cramped, but still doing a lot of kicking and stretching.

The fact is, it feels like she’s getting more cramped. The rapid fire kicks and big rolls have given way to stretches and some lazier kicks, mostly at night, aimed at the side I’m sleeping on. The weirdest feeling is the big stretch. I can feel a pressure low on my belly, and I can see a bulge push out on the top right, just under my ribcage.

She’s more likely to stretch just after I’ve eaten, I assume because a full stomach gives her less room. She’s more likely to kick if I have something resting against my belly. For instance, at the moment, the computer is sitting on my lap, and in order to type, my arms are pressing lightly against the sides of my belly. Periodically, I get a kick aimed at one side, or the other.

So I’m left feeling, that as I get more and more ready to see her little face, and have her arrive, she must be feeling ready (in as much as she can at this age) to have a little more room, and get a “bigger room” of her own.