Works For Me: Home Made Wipes

You may have noticed that my “Works For Me” suggestions are about being quick and easy. If something is less expensive, but takes a lot more time, I usually choose to spend the money to save the time. This particular tip saves money without costing inordinate amounts of time.

More than two years ago, when my nephew, The Pigeon, was born, my sister received a bizarre shower gift: three rolls of bounty paper towel, baby soap, baby oil and two round plastic containers with lids. The look on her face was hilarious. She was working so hard at trying to be thankful and positive while trying to work out what she was looking at exactly.

Then she was handed the recipe.

Baby Wipes

1 roll bounty paper towels
2 tablespoons baby bath soap
1 tablespoon baby oil
2 cups water

  1. Cut the roll of towels in half with a sharp knife.
  2. In a plastic container, mix the liquid ingredients very well.
  3. Add 1/2 of the paper towels, place lid on container and let sit for 10-15 minutes.
  4. Turn container over and let sit for another 10-15 minutes.
  5. When all the ingredients have absorbed, pull the brown paper out of the middle and then you can pull the wipes through the center.

I watched her make the wipes, and thought “Hey, even I could do that!” and I filed it away in my brain just in case I was in need of baby wipes one day.

On Saturday afternoon I opened one of the gift bags at my baby shower, and found: three rolls of paper towel, baby soap, baby oil and a round plastic container with a lid. I was thrilled!

Here’s the neat thing: you can make a lot of other wipes too. It’s quick, easy and inexpensive. It works for me.

For more helpful tips, visit Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer every Wednesday for lots of helpful “Works for Me” things.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

