This is My Life

I had one of those days today. You know what I’m talking about – a day where everything I touched turn to crap before my eyes.

It all started when . . . well, that’s not the point. Let’s just say that everything I touched, from my checkbook at Lowe’s to supper (supposed to be burritos – had to be turned into “southwestern soup”), didn’t work. Every time I tried to make a phone call, my cell phone reception would drop from four bars to zero . . . just trust me . . . it was one of those days.

So I lost my temper today, threw my cell phone against a wall, and a few moments later, threw a can of diced tomatoes (closed, because the can opener didn’t work) on the floor. At that I remembered this song which has been running through by brain for some time:

don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes

this is your life, are you who you want to be . . .
this is your life, is it everything you dreamed that it would be . . .

At that moment, I was not who I wanted to be.

Romans 7:19 sums up my day: “For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.” I am not who I want to be.

But that last line really made me change my perspective. Is this life everything I dreamed that it would be? Hardly. Praise the Lord.

I dreamed that at this point in my life I would be writing, directing and starring in my own movies. I had my Oscar acceptance speech all practiced up (although it changed frequently).

When I dreamed about my life I didn’t consider that my husband could truly be my best friend. I didn’t imagine how enormously awesome the blessing of pregnancy could be, or how rewarding it could be to invest in the lives of teens for ten years.

This is my life, and it’s so much better than I dreamed. Even on days when everything I touch turns to crap.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “This is My Life

