Drama Queen

If you’ve known me longer than, say, five minutes you know that I’m given to a little drama.  Okay, a lot of drama.  I’m a drama queen, in fact.  I do believe that I may be a partially recovering drama queen, but if I were in Drama Queens Anonymous, I’d still be at “Step One: admit you have a problem.”  I tell big stories.  I love to get big laughs.  I thrive on attention.  Why do you think I blog?

As a part of my Drama Queen affliction, I love anything that involves groups of people watching me.  I love acting, public speaking, doing demonstrations and singing either solo or in small ensembles.  Choirs spread the attention too far for my liking.  Interestingly, the Lord hasn’t given me the opportunity to do any of those things for quite some years now.  It’s been at least three years since I’ve sung publicly, and as much time since I’ve acted, and apart from teaching I haven’t spoken formally in public since at least 2004.  Do you think maybe the Lord has been giving me a time out?  I do.

Veronica, over at Toddled Dredge, who is one of my very favorite bloggers, is doing her annual 12 days of Christmas posts.  This year’s theme is passages from Handel’s Messiah, and today’s post is from Isaiah 40:9 “. . . shine for thy light has come . . . “.  Please read it.  I can’t do it justice, but I think that after reading my above confessions, you will understand why Richard’s story has convicted me so greatly.  Maybe the willingness with which Richard stood is the willingness with which I should sit still and shut up.

Maybe, just maybe, I shine with Christ’s light when the spotlight is aimed somewhere else.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “Drama Queen

  • Veronica Mitchell

    This is a great post, and I am very flattered to have written the occasion for it. Hmm. Flattered about, well, humility stuff. Now I’m all confused.

  • Jawan

    Note to Mitch: Let’s sign her up for the drama team.
    Just kidding…there has NEVER been a drama team at WPC!
    If there were, you’d be the director.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Note to Loran: Ask her to sing in church for offeratory 🙂 Hehehe!

  • Kristi-Anna

    Thanks for sharing that Coralie. I have been struggling a bit these past two weeks, as I have one of my older daughter’s friends Mom’s coming death on my mind. OK, that sounds bad… but Trish has been given only a few weeks to live, and I am quite certain they are not believers. I have been struggling as to what to do, what to say, and how not to offend. The time is past, and if I offend her, I offend her, but if I don’t share Jesus with her and she dies, it’s something I am not prepared to live with. Please pray for me and for Trish and her family (dh, ds 11, dd 8, ds 6) as they go through the valley of the shadow of death.

  • Coralie

    Get thee behind me Jawan and Tera. 🙂

