Saturday Book Review: Coraline

With a title like Coraline, you should really know that someone would see this book and think of me.  In fact a lot of somebodies did, but Terri did something about it, and at some point in the break she dropped it off for me.

I enjoyed Stardust, so I was fairly certain that I would enjoy this book – until I read this quote by Terry Pratchett, my very favorite currently living fantasy author.  “This book will send a shiver down your spine, out through your toes and into a taxi to the airport.  It has the delicate horror of the finest fairy tales, and it is a masterpiece.” That’s when I got a little nervous.

Here’s the thing: the only time I get to read these days is at night, when everyone else is asleep, in the dark with my PDA for light.  Shivers down the spine are fine in the daylight, but it’s not exactly calming just-before-bed reading.  Nevertheless, I settled down last night with Coraline and my PDA in the dark.

I finished it and hour and twenty minutes later.

It’s a fascinating read.

There are a few moments of spine shivering moments, but no more than the grim fairy tales.  I would agree with Terry Pratchett; this is a fairy tale master piece.  Don’t let the “horror” word scare you off.  This is a very well written fairy tale in which a young girl must face the reality that what she thinks she wants would actually kill her.  It’s a morality tale, with enough moments of tenseness and just enough suspense to make it worth the read.  It’s certainly not a story for small children, but I am going to recommend it to my Middle School class.  We may even read it together in class.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Saturday Book Review: Coraline

  • RustyBadger

    Pratchett yays! That guy does the best escapism in ANY universe. Have you seen the BBC’s adaptation (with Terry’s input, of course) of Hogfather? Awesomeness indeed.

    I haven’t yet read any of Gaiman’s books, but he’s highly recommended by another of my favourite authours, Cory Doctorow. I urge you to get a copy of Little Brother and share it with your class- it’s got some very thought-provoking ideas in it!

