Recommended Reading

Here are two posts I happened across that have challenged me immensely.  Interestingly, they are both from bloggers posting advice they received from someone else.  I’d like to know what you think.

Here is a very balanced article about family size that was very encouraging to me.  I’d like to know what you think.

And here is a very challenging article about weight and health and being a biblical woman.  Do you agree?  Do you disagree?  Let me know.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “Recommended Reading

  • Roberta Taylor

    Interesting posts- thanks for sharing.

    I would add just one comment re: family size, and that is that with each child God gives you, your family is re-shaped anew, stretched and changed to accommodate a new person. I think that decisions about family size MUST take the whole family into consideration- every member of that family, not just the parents.

  • AJU5's Mom

    On the family size, I pretty much agree with what as said. We do have some ethical control over fertility, and there is no sin is using that!

    As for the weight/health one, I just skimmed it (daughter woke up while reading it – and now I am too lazy to go back to it). But, I think I got the point. I agree that we can be biblical women and not be “perfect” in terms of body. With that being said, I tend to see too many Christian women (and men) who are obese or close to it. They have had health issues as a result (or will in the future probably). So, I think there is a fine line. If you are perfectly healthy and just a little over the “ideal” weight, that might just be the way God made you. Those ideal weights aren’t perfect for everyone, and they made a lot of assumptions when determining them. But, if you are truly overweight, they you aren’t taking care of the Temple of God and something should be done.

  • laura

    Very interesting articles. I agree completely with the first article on birth control.

    The second article is one that I can honestly say I have not thought much about. I agree that we should not lose our focus on God to maintain the perfect image. The only perfect person to walk the earth was Jesus. In the same respect we should take care of the Temple of God but this goes for so many things, eating healthy, not drinking too much, getting some sort of exercise, etc. I suppose you could say that I agree that weight in an earthly battle and taking good care of the body God gave you as a spiritual battle.

  • laura

    I forgot to add that I view the second article like the conversation we had the other night on the environment. Just as I feel that we need to be good stewards of the earth I agree that we need to take care of the Temple of God. However neither extreme environmentalism and obsession solely on weight is healthy or Godly,in my opinion.

    Just because I feel that logging is essential for where we are in human existence and that hunting is a necessity for food it doesn’t mean that I am a poor steward. The same goes for going out for a nice dinner AND having dessert or not successfully losing those 5-10 extra pounds. I think you can be a good steward who uses the earth and a healthy chunky Temple of God. The focus should be on the Lord and what pleases him, not us.

    Alright I am done with my rant. Thanks for the thought provoking articles. I am excited to hear what you think.

  • Terri

    I only read the first article. Personally, I have some issues with birth control especially since I’ve become aware of the history behind it. However, I do not think natural family planning is wrong. It’s a touchy issue, yet it somehow seems selfish and demonstrative of a lack of trust in God’s sovereignty to permanently prevent more children. Yet, there is the issue of the health of the mother (that sounds eerily pro-abortion) to consider. I’ve known of cases where the mother was told she shouldn’t have more children because a pregnancy could cause some serious health issues. In one particular case I know of a woman did die in childbirth because of complications due to her pregnancy. She left behind a husband, two children and a newborn. Was she wrong to get pregnant again? Should she have been content with the two children she already had? I don’t think there are any easy answers.

    I will add that I personally think it is wrong for Christians to purposefully decide that they do not wish to have children. I believe one of the purposes of a godly marriage is to procreate. God did not rescind His command to be fruitful and multiply. Trouble conceiving is one thing, but intentionally deciding not to have any children at all, well, I have a problem with that personally; though you won’t find me on a crusade to lay guilt trips on those I know who say they don’t want children.

    I found out recently that friends of mine had taken measures to prevent any more children. They have two sweet, adorable boys. My friends are great parents and godly people, but I was saddened when they told me of their decision, but perhaps that is just my sentimentality about my situation creeping in. We have always been open to more children and as I near forty I feel that perhaps more babies are not in my future and it does make me sad somewhat. Having lost three babies, however, I am immensely grateful for the two children I have and am not shaking my fist at God for not giving me more.

    Gosh, you didn’t know what you were in for asking for responses did you? Sorry about the lengthy comment. I’ll finsish by saying that I do think we Christians tend to over analyze and over complicate issues that are really probably quite simple from a biblical stand point.

