Surprise. It’s a White March 1st.

The forecast had been for a winter storm, but in ten years we had only seen one snowfall stick in Georgia, so we were naturally skeptical.  Nevertheless, we awoke to what the weather people call a “wintery mix” which became full blown snow very quickly, and by the time we left for church, the world was white, with more white stuff still falling.

As we sat in church, the snow continued to fall, and the wind blew and at times it looked a little like Edmonton, AB more than West Central Georgia.  Snow was the topic of conversation with everybody at church, and the excitement was palpable.  Even normally laid back people had a little twinkle in their eye and a bounce in their step.  They discussed playing in the snow, the possibility of work or school being called off on Monday, and the poor quality of Georgia drivers in the snow with equal parts child like wonder and adult like wonder.

People said things like  “I love snow.  It’s so beautiful”  and “Oh, isn’t it just wonderful?”

The snow was still falling at 4:00 in the afternoon when we decided that the mackerdoodle needed rubber boots if she were to go out in the still accumulating snow.  So off to WalMart we went, and discovered that every other parent in West Central Georgia apparently had the same idea – and had it before we did.  Wal Mart was out of boots, and the mackerdoodle was out of luck.   I did manage to get a few pictures of her experiencing the snow from her daddy’s arms, but that’s the best she’s going to get this time around.

At 5:30, when we returned from our failed shopping trip, the snow had finally stopped.  After letting the mackerdoodle have her tiny, and unsatisfying snow experience, we came inside our heated home for chili and bread.  I brushed the snow from shoulders, because my jacket doesn’t zip or button over my baby bump, and I stamped the snow from my boots, and Jonathan looked at me with the knowledge that only a husband can have – he said “You really would have been just as happy not to see the snow, wouldn’t you.”

I was going to lie to him, but I couldn’t.  He’s my husband.  I had to just nod.  I don’t like having cold feet.  I don’t like having snow blow down my shirt, or into my ears or down the back of my neck.  I don’t like the tracks of slush at the door, or the little puddles of melting slush in the van.  I like living in Georgia and one of the top reasons is the absence of frozen winter precipitation.  I had no awe or wonder at the snow today.

Except for one factor.

Monday I don’t have to go to school.

I guess if it takes some snow to get me a snow day, I’ll take it.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Surprise. It’s a White March 1st.

  • Roberta Taylor

    A snow day. For that? Umm- why? I mean, even you soft Southerners could all make it to Walmart to look for boots, so why not school? Just wondering.

