Slow Downs and Interruptions

Suppose the productive members of an organization are, over a short period of time, forced to work in half the space, doing fifty percent more work to support a growing community that not only fails to produce, it actively consumes the production of the productive members.  One would assume this would result in shortages, slow downs in service,  interruptions and general confusion.  In the extreme it could even cause localized strikes.

I am not speaking of our current economic system.  I am referring to the human body during pregnancy.

All of my organs have been squished into half the space they normally occupy and are being expected to do fifty percent more work to support a life that will eventually be self sufficient, but isn’t yet.  It shouldn’t then surprise me when I have daily reflux, and some of the other “service interruptions” that accompany pregnancy.

I praise the Lord (as I reach for the tums) that I’m not experiencing some of the real problems that some women do.  While my body is protesting a little, ( alright, sometimes I feel like I might burst open like a ripe melon) overall, it is carrying the load very well – better in some areas than during my pregnancy with the mackerdoodle.  I’m not experiencing edema this time around (hallelujah) and I’m (interestingly, considering I have a toddler) mostly sleeping better. 

Being bigger (much bigger)  (much, much bigger) than I was with the mackerdoodle ever, people are trying to encourage me by saying “Oh, you’re going to have a big, healthy boy!”  Let me point out that while the healthy part would be an answer to prayer, the *big* part is not what I want to hear.  Remember:  I’m the one who has to DELIVER the big boy.  A strapping son with big shoulders and strong legs is fine AFTER birth, but I don’t want to think about that NOW if you don’t mind.  🙂    My persistent Braxton-Hicks contractions make me hopeful that I’ll deliver the cheesedoodle a little early (37 or 38 weeks would be just fine) but I fear that if people keep telling me how big my boy will be, my body may launch a strike and demand early emancipation from its burden.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Slow Downs and Interruptions

  • Coastal

    I hear every word you speak – you know I do! I’ll pray you’ll get a surprise in the other direction, like a friend of mine who was expecting a big girl, but got one smaller than her first, a beautiful, modestly sized baby girl. The belly doesn’t always tell the full story, and even those more ‘official’ estimates at the ultrasound can be off by quite a bit.
    Best of luck whenever and however he comes!

