Second Baby, Different Gender

This Saturday my church is hosting a “baby boy” shower for me.  (It’s at 10 am, and you can contact Jawan if you want to come.)  I blogged during my pregnancy with the mackerdoodle about registering at Target, and my struggles with how to do so appropriately.  I find myself in a new, yet familiar struggle this time around.

I don’t have the “what will I really need?” questions this time around.  I know what we used with the mackerdoodle and what we didn’t.  We have all the big things like high chair, tub, exersaucer, bouncy chair, swing, diaper champ, stroller. . .  so I’m not worried about that end of registering.

What I’m struggling with this time around is two fold because what I really need is diapers, nursing pads, paper towel (I make my own wipes), baby wash and other disposables like that.  But:

  1. I can’t really register for those things.  I mean, I did.  If you print my registry at Target or at Target.com,  you’ll find diapers and paper towels and diaper rash cream on there.  But I couldn’t just put “any newborn and size one diapers”, so I scanned Luv’s diapers because that’s what was closest to me in the right sizes.  I scanned a 6 pack of paper towels, but I couldn’t write on the registry “for home made wipes” so it looks weird and random.  I scanned Johnson’s nursing pads because they were the least expensive, but what if someone found something else on sale?
  2. When the Lord sells our house, we’re packing up and moving to St. Louis.  As much as hundreds of diapers would be a tremendous blessing, they would also be an addition to the items we need to pack.  We would love to receive them, but when someone asked me on Sunday if I’d rather have a box of diapers, or a gift card to Target or WalMart, I said “gift card thank you.”  You see, I can pack a gift card in my wallet.

So here I am in the same struggle as the last time – I hate registries, because I HATE to sound like I’m being picky, or demanding or expecting something from someone.  On the other hand, I appreciate that people love me and want to bless us so I want to make that as easy as I can for them.  *sigh*  It’s hard being a pampered pregnant woman.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “Second Baby, Different Gender

  • AJU5's Mom

    When my friend had showers for babies 3-5, the host put on the invite what they needed – diapers, etc. they, like you, had the big things already. That being said, I am probably going to give my pregnant friend a gift card even though this is her first. She had multiple registries, and I just don’t know what to get her. I know the gift cards I received were great. I could buy the big items we still needed and get the things we wanted for “free.” I wish people would understand that gift cards aren’t always inpersonal!

  • Marianne

    I was going to say basically the same thing AJU5’s mom said … just ask the host to handle the political correctness for you. People will understand. 🙂

