Daily Archives: June 4, 2009

A Small Worldview

There is so much going on in the world right now.  GM filed for bankruptcy, an Air France jet broke up over the Atlantic, Sonia Sotomayor is nominated for the Supreme Court, President Obama is touring the Muslim world and declaring the U.S. one of the largest Muslim countries by population, Jon and Kate are breaking up . . .

. . . but what’s really filling my mind and life right now is the Cheesedoodle and his imminent arrival.  The bag is packed and sitting by the door, ready for a trip to the hospital.  My parents are arriving this evening.  I’ve charged the batteries on the camera.  I’ve even designed the birth announcement (sort of.  I keep tweaking it.).  Now, all there is to do is wait.

I’ve spent two years telling everyone we were crazy for renovating a house so close to the mackerdoodle’s due date, but now, as I sit 11 days away from my due date, and 5 days from my scheduled induction, I’m feeling discontented and impatient.  There”s very little to keep my miond from my enormous size and Braxton Hicks contractions, so it’s all I end up thinking about.  It’s made my world very small and insular.  Looking back, I think it was a good thing to have a project to keep my mind off my own discomfort.  Okay, probably not a major house renovation, but some sort of project is a good idea.

If I ever do this again, I think I’ll plan some sort of project for the last few weeks of my pregnancy, something to open my world up beyond myself and my temporary discomfort.

