My Week As Best As I Remember It . . .

Wow!  What a whirlwind week I have had!  I’m going to try to make this as brief and entertaining as possible, but honestly, we all know I am neither.

After Sunday morning’s virus attack, my week just got crazier.  We had scheduled an agent’s open house for Tuesday – an agent’s open house gives local Realtors a chance to walk through a house without an appointment.  In a house like ours it can really help to have as many agents in town telling their clients “I’ve been in this house, and it’s bigger than it looks.”  So we scheduled the agent’s open house for Tuesday.

Monday morning we took the mackerdoodle to Jawan’s house to play with “Abijuice” for the morning.  I had great plans of getting the entire house decluttered and cleaned by the mackerdoodle’s nap time shortly after lunch.  Oh, right, I have a 5 week old baby.  In reality I went to bed at 3:30 Tuesday morning, and even then some things like my linen closet and my big old pile of shoes at my door didn’t get dealt with.  Regardless, my house has never looked better.  Ever.  My eyes, on the other hand, not so much.

4 hours after I went to bed, my children woke up.  Oh, right, I have a toddler and a 5 week old baby.

We were out the door before ten and headed out.  We spent three and a half hours out as a family and other than my lack of sleep, it was quite a nice morning.  As we were driving down the road to our house, our realtor called to let us know that she was just leaving.  When I walked into the house, I thought two things: A: “It sure is nice to come home to a house cleaner than any house in which I have lived as an autonomous adult” and B: “I wish I could take a nap.”  Unfortunately, while the mackerdoodle took her nap, the cheesedoodle wanted to eat, and when he went to sleep, I had only fifteen minutes until our next appointment for the day.

There aren’t very many people for whom I would have stayed awake after four hours of sleep, but Hollie is one of them.  Hollie was a student in Jonathan’s youth group when we lived in Middle Georgia.  She came to us as a beautiful, but giggly and typically adolescent middle-schooler who was crazy about boys.  She is now on the verge of her 21st birthday and her senior year at Liberty University.  The young woman who sat in my house, and drank sweet tea and played with my daughter, has a heart for saving girls and young women from the international sex trade, and writes praise and worship music, and has been to Kosovo and Germany.  It was a fantastic treat to visit with her, if only I had been able to do it with more than four hours of sleep.

As she was driving out of my driveway, I noticed a dull ache behind my eyes.  By the time the mackerdoodle had finished her supper, I felt like someone had driven a spike through my temples and run electrodes through the back of my eyeballs.  And I was throwing up like I was eight weeks pregnant, which I AM NOT!  I am certain of that fact.  It was a migraine.  I climbed into bed at 8:00 in the evening and woke only to feed the cheesedoodle until 8:30 the next morning.

Wednesday was supposed to be a laid back day.  My to-do list was laundry, and Jonathan’s was renovating the mackerdoodle’s first bike, which is a post unto itself.  We also decided to act on the suggestions of the agents who had walked through our house Tuesday and buy a deck box to organize our carport.  We did all of those things, but the laid back thing didn’t happen because as I was doing laundry, I noticed that when the washing machine drained, the guest toilet bubbled.  I was pretty sure it wasn’t good.  I was right.

So for the last two days Jonathan has been trying to find the cause.  Yup, two days of working on plumbing.  With more to come Friday.

So that’s my week, which hopefully explains why I haven’t been posting much, if you’re still reading this epic post.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “My Week As Best As I Remember It . . .

  • Jawan

    Oh gosh….I don’t know what to say. Wanna bring Mackerdoodle back over next week so you can sleep when Cheesedoodle sleeps for a few hours? Ummmm….Just. want. to. help.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Wow! I hope you get more realtor traffic after all of that! I hope you and the plumbing are feeling better soon! If Loran can help in any way, just let him know! (All I can do is pray from here…)

  • Crista Cowan

    Wow!!! I’m surprised you didn’t just collapse somewhere…. and I hope with all your work and effort to pays of for you. You definately deserve a reward after that one! By the way thank you for your card we got it the other day. Very nice…I have tucked Mr Cheeserdoodle with Macerdoodle right where we can see them all the tme. In the window of my China Cabinet. Have a great day 🙂

  • melissa

    I only wish we were closer… love you and will pray, which is, i guess, more than i could ever do even if I lived next door.

