Just For Me

Though the fig tree should not blossom,
nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
and there be no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the LORD;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.
GOD, the Lord, is my strength;
he makes my feet like the deer’s;
he makes me tread on my high places.

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Sunday school was on Habakkuk this week, and at the end of it Jonathan and I decided that it was just for us, and everyone else was just there for seat filler.  🙂

The book of Habakkuk consists of complaints against God and God’s answers.  Habakkuk is living in a nation slowly being devoured by the Babylonian empire, and he’s a little upset about it.  At the end of the book he writes the passage above, which I will now paraphrase in the way it impacted me this morning:

Even if my luxuries, food staples and wealth are taken from me, I will make the decision to rejoice in the Lord, because He, not my possessions, are my strength and my salvation.  Even if Jonathan doesn’t find work and we end up eating a steady diet of government cheese, and living in a van down by the river, we will still choose to rejoice in the Lord – to take joy in the God who has saved us.

And today I am in my own home, feeding healthy and abundant food to my beautiful children in comfortable air conditioning, so how much easier should it be to take joy in Him now?  Today, with everything up in the air, but with my every need met and exceeded, I will rejoice in the Lord.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “Just For Me

  • Carole

    1 will try to follow your example as we wait, sometimes impatiently, for the sale of our house.

  • Kacie

    I found your blog through Tera’s, and I’m so glad I did. Lately I have had similar worries about our house not selling, possibly even ending up in foreclosure, and everything that we worked so hard for being lost. But, none of that matters. Even if we lose it all and end up in the van next to yours down by the river, we’ll still choose to praise God.

