While I’m Waiting

Sunday morning Mike punched me in the gut during Sunday School.  He didn’t mean to.  He didn’t even know he was doing it.  He was just being faithful to what the Lord gave him to teach, which was Jeremiah 29.

Thus says the LORD of hosts, the God of Israel, to all the exiles whom I have sent into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce.  Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease.  But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare.    Jeremiah 29:4-7   ESV

Here’s the thing: I’ve been living like I’m in exile.  I haven’t volunteered to do anything at church because I might be moving.  I don’t want to prune my trees or plant anything beyond basic filler in my yard because I want to be moving.  I’m not investing in new relationships because I might be moving.  You can see where I’m going here.

So when Mike read this passage in Sunday School it was like God smacking me on the head with a two by four and telling me to snap out of it.  In the famous verse from that same chapter in Jeremiah, God knows the plans he has for me.  He hasn’t left me here in west central GA because he’s forgotten about me, or because he was caught off guard by the slow housing market.  God has me here for a purpose.  I don’t have to move to be purposeful.  I don’t have to move to have life continue.  I’m not just treading water here, I’m still running the race.

I’ll be honest with you: I don’t know how to keep going right now.  I don’t really understand what it is that God’s doing, or why he’s doing it.  But the people of Israel didn’t understand why they’d been hauled off to Babylon either.  Maybe I’m being disciplined.  Maybe I’m being taught.  Maybe I’m being rewarded, and I just can’t tell it yet.  Regardless, God calls me to live here, not to merely exist until something better comes along.

I’m going to try.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

6 responses to “While I’m Waiting

  • Melinda

    thanks cor…what a challenge for me who feels like im exiled to HOuston..thank you for the challenge and reminder…

  • Carole

    Oh darling….you really search your heart dont you….that is the way to grow.

  • Tera Montgomery

    I LOVE that song. It is a constant reminder not to get hung up on the “next” thing and be purposeful in the now.

    I like reading your blog. It is like being in Sunday school with you guys 🙂

  • Roberta

    This is a hard thing to do- being married to a nomad, one I have lots of practice at. We decided early on in our marriage to always live as though we were staying put forever, even if we knew we weren’t. Sometimes we’ve been better at it than other times.

    I’ve found it easiest to start with my home. Plant a plant you love, paint a wall… Then when you invite people in they sense that this is your home (not just your house) and in turn feel more relaxed and welcomed. (I’m sure that you’re good at this- probably better than me!)

  • Alison Fell

    Sometimes we just want to go somewhere, do something, accomplish something, be somebody when really all God desires is for us to BE WITH HIM, regardless of where we are, who we are with, what responsibillities we have or do not have. May we get a glimpse of His glory today and know Him more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Coralie.

  • Anita

    I have so often convinced myself that I am the only one who understands what it feels like to be walking through the desert…feeling forgotten and alone. Even though it doesn’t make that desert less barren, it somehow makes the journey easier to know that there are other people foraging the dusty road too…even if I can’t see them. Thanks for reminding me that we’re not alone…and that God’s purpose, while often ellusive, is exactly that: A PURPOSE – not a random accident that I somehow need to find my way out of…

    Praying for you while you’re sitting in the waiting room God has you in…

