Wholey Wheat? (An Audience Participation Post)

Today I baked burned a batch of bread.  Three of the four loaves were salvageable, but the last loaf is just a bag of bread nuggets pulled from the center of the blackened crusts and labeled “bread lumps for stuffing” in my freezer.  I should really do another batch but I’m out of whole wheat flour.  The reason I’m out of whole wheat flour?  I can’t find anywhere in the entire West Central Georgia region where I can purchase a bag of whole wheat flour larger than five pounds.  I buy the 25 pound bag of bread flour at Sam’s Club which lasts six to eight weeks but I can’t find whole wheat in large quantities.

All of the people I know who bake with whole wheat on a regular basis grind their own from wheat berries they purchase through a local co-op.  I don’t have (and can’t currently afford to purchase) a wheat grinder because I didn’t see the need, so now I’m wondering: do all the people I know grind their own wheat flour because flour is hard to buy in bulk, or is whole wheat flour difficult to buy in bulk because all the people who use it grind their own?

So I have two questions for you, my faithful few readers:

1.  Am I seriously missing a mother lode of whole wheaty goodness somewhere?  Can I buy 85 pound bags of ground whole wheat at some obscure little store here in our corner of Georgia and I’m just too new to this cooking my own food thing to know about it?  If so, PLEASE enlighten me!

2.  Where do you fall on grinding your own flour?  If you’re for it, please try to convince me, and if you’re against, please present your arguments on that side.  Is it worth my time and money?  Are the health benefits really as good as everyone says?  Do I *really* want to add “grind my own flour” to my list of out of the mainstream things I do?  Is the price of a grinder really worth it?

So come, post, make your voice heard.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

10 responses to “Wholey Wheat? (An Audience Participation Post)

  • Roberta Taylor

    Well, as usual I am going to contribute something that may not actually help, but you know that I mean well.

    I despise whole wheat flour. Really really despise it. So I don’t have any. Instead, I make a multi-grain bread using 9 grain hot cereal (1c to about 5 or 6 of white flour) or Red river or cream of wheat. The family loves it and it’s a nice compromise. (Cream of wheat is a very good source of digestible iron, and makes a hearty ‘white’ bread)

    As to the grinder, we just started looking around at them because we realised that Miss Wynne has a gluten allergy (probably celiac, be we’re not 100% certain yet) and that grinding teff, quinoa, and nuts for nut flours ourselves would save us a ton of $$ (mix to make ONE loaf of gluten free bread costs $10.95 CDN- yikes!) On a whim I suggested that J call his mom and see if she had one, seeing as they had been hippies once upon a time, and wonder of wonders, not only did she have one, she had just been telling his dad that they needed to get rid of it. Hooray! So that doesn’t help you at all, and having not used it yet I can’t even comment on it utility, but I still think it’s a good story:)

  • Badger

    Honeyville Food Products sells 50-lb bags of whole wheat flour for $42, plus $5 shipping. Pretty pricey though!
    http://store.honeyvillegrain.com/wholewheatflour50lb.aspx

  • Wholey Wheat? (An Audience Participation Post) « Life More Abundantly Wheat Blog

    […] original here:  Wholey Wheat? (An Audience Participation Post) « Life More Abundantly By admin | category: wheat | tags: another-batch, batch, central, central-georgia, entire, […]

  • Andrea

    I have a wheat mill and berries. Would you like to come over and let me grind some flour for you? You could take it home for baking, and then arrive at your own conculsions. We could grind enough so that you could freeze some flour for future use. The flour needs to be kept refrigerated or frozen (long-term) to avoid spoiling(age). However, the wheat berries will last for years if keep stored in an air-tight container away from moisture. There would also be the added benefit of some fellowship (hint-hint). If transportation is an issue then I could bring the mill and berries to your house.

  • Mandy V

    Hello. I saw your comment on no whey mama’s e book giveaway about coconut milk fudge. My son has a severe dairy, soy and nut allergy and was looking for a dairy free soy fudge recipe. Would you be willing to share the receipe? Thanks.

    • Coralie

      Okay here’s my recipe. If you’ve never made fudge before, I strongly recommend starting here and reading the all recipes fudge tutorial. I couldn’t have done it without it.

      Also: I use tahini as the fat. You can also use peanut butter (assuming there are no peanut allergies). I’m experimenting with a more neutral tasting fat, but so far these have been the most successful.

      Non Dairy, Non Soy Fudge

      Ingredients

      * 4 cups white sugar
      * 1 cup cocoa
      * 1 can of coconut milk
      * 6 tablespoons sesame tahini
      * 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

      Directions

      1. Grease a 9×15 inch baking pan. Set aside.
      2. Combine sugar, cocoa and coconut milk in a medium saucepan. Stir to blend, then bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and simmer. Do not stir again.
      3. Place candy thermometer in pan and cook until temperature reaches 238 degrees F(114 degrees C) or softball stage
      4. Remove from heat and let cool to 110 degrees F. Pour into a clean bowel (don’t scrape the pan). Add tahini and vanilla extract. Beat with a wooden spoon until the fudge loses its sheen. Do not under beat.
      5. Pour into prepared pan and let cool. Cut into about 60 squares.

  • andreajennine

    A lot of families in our area get wheat flour and other grains from a health food co-op. I don’t know any of the details, but I wonder if there’s something similar near you.

  • a suburban housewife

    An 85 lb. bag of whole wheat flour is not a good thing unless you use it in, like, a week. Ground whole wheat flour goes rancid because of the high vitamin E content. Should it not go rancid, you must ask, “has the vitamin E been removed?” In which case, what is the point?

    Does Columbus have a Whole Foods, Earth Fare, or Fresh Market? Those types of stores generally have an area where you can choose AND grind your berries. I would also second the emotion: try spelt, rye, kamut, etc. But buckwheat? Now there’s something that requires an acquired taste. Just my $.02!!

  • Alisa - Frugal Foodie

    I only grind my own oat flour! That can be done in my little spice grinder. Have you thrown a few wheat berries in a spice grinder to see if it can flour them? I have been amazed how powerful those little things are 🙂

    Otherwise, the wheat berries cost more than the organic wheat flour at my local stores!

