Funny, When I Woke Up This Morning, This Wasn’t What I Expected

The Cheesedoodle did not fall off the porch today, or any other high place.  That made today a good day.  Mostly.

This morning I had three things on my things to do list:

  1. Contact the seminary to find out why the financial aid package hadn’t arrived.
  2. Compare and contrast PODS/Ubox versus renting a truck and storing our things for a month in St. Louis.
  3. Call the loan guy to find out when the appraisal was going to be done for the re-fi.

Also on my mind: getting Jonathan to work and myself and the children to bible study almost simultaneously with only one car.  Yeah.  I was certainly going to be late.

You can see why I was a little distracted when my phone rang on the way to drop Jonathan at the “hospilater”.  As soon as I heard the loan officer’s voice, my brain jumped straight to “cross # 3 off the to do list!  Sweet!”; but it was not, in fact, so sweet.  He was calling to inform me that they couldn’t actually refinance our loan.  The refinance upon which all of our plans were built was suddenly gone, with a “sorry about that,”  and a “blame the underwriter.”

You see, without the re-fi, the rent payment the guys have agreed to pay won’t give us enough above the mortgage payment for any contingencies.  It was only the re-fi that made us consider renting in the first place.  Considering renting made us put a deposit on an apartment.  Putting a deposit on an apartment made us seek out health insurance in Missouri.  This is the plan that refinancing built.  So here we are: with an apartment and health insurance in another state, and a home in this one and a seemingly un-fillable void between them.

We’d appreciate your prayers.  I think we’re back to having to sell the house – but how?  to whom?  do any of you want an investment property?  We’ve got four guys willing to sign a year lease.  I don’t know what it all means.  I don’t know what the Lord is teaching us, or where he’s taking us.  But I do know that He is in control, and I know that He is a good and kind God.

I wonder what tomorrow will hold?  I’m willing to bet the Cheesedoodle will fall off something.  Beyond that, I don’t think I’ll hazard a guess.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

6 responses to “Funny, When I Woke Up This Morning, This Wasn’t What I Expected

  • Lollie

    Oh, sorry that it didn’t work out. Keep hanging in there, the Lord has something in store. Waiting is the hardest part. Praying for you guys!

  • a suburban housewife

    Coralie, per our conversation the other day: I was wrong. Don’t tread water faster or harder. Just lie back and float. I’m not trying to be pithy, I just look back on the times we paddled harder and faster. It didn’t change things a bit and only made us more frustrated in the process. Love you guys.

  • a suburban housewife

    And thanks in advance for forgiving that huge comma splice 🙂

  • Alison Fell

    Oh, Coralie, I am sorry with you. I am confident God knows what He is doing, but oh, He just doesn’t make it easy sometimes in not confiding the details to us.

    This week I have been reading two books which have so encouraged me about the sovereignty of God – John Piper’s books called A Sweet and Bitter Providence and Ruth Under the Wings of God. If you have any time to read and care to borrow them just say so.

    I will be praying for you all.

  • Becky

    Disappointed along with you. Confused with you.
    Praying with you.

  • Kacie

    I’m so sorry, Coralie! We’re praying God will reveal his will for you all.

