Today . . .

Today I crossed two things off of my to-do list; my to-do list had fifteen things on it.  Most of the time I love being a stay at home mom, but there are days like today when I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into.

The day began with such promise.  I had the van this morning, so I bought a few groceries and managed to get home well before lunch.  I sent off an e-mail for Jonathan and fed the kids lunch.  But it all went down hill after Jonathan left for his second job.

Playing outside, the cheesedoodle found the wagon, filled with rain water from yesterday, and immediately climbed into it.  What water he didn’t splash out was absorbed into his diaper.  At the same time the mackerdoodle, clad in shorts and her rubber boots (you might be a redneck if . . .) was jumping up and down in puddles.  She slipped and landed full bodied into the mud.  They both played for another 45 minutes, only compounding the mess.

While the cheesedoodle was in the bath, the mackerdoodle spilled sweet tea all over my couch.  While the mackerdoodle was in the tub, the cheesedoodle threw a roll of toilet paper and a package of wipes into the tub, then fell asleep at 5 pm.  While I was talking to my parents about our up coming move the mackerdoodle toilet papered the living room.  Because of his long nap, the cheesedoodle didn’t fall asleep until 9:45 this evening, and now I’m blogging about it all.

And yet, a bad day of SAHMing is still better than a good day of infertility.  I wonder what tomorrow will bring?  Apart from the rest of my to-do list, of course.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

7 responses to “Today . . .

  • Jawan

    hee hee….she toilet papered the living room? That’s kinda funny.

  • Jawan

    I hope you salvaged most of the TP. I mean, that stuff ain’t cheap!

  • Tera Montgomery

    There were days when I could laugh about that sort of stuff and others days that I would just cry.

    Of course, it’s easier to find it funny when its not your own kids doing it 🙂

  • AJU5's Mom

    Sounds like your day was an adventure! I am not ready for the day when both my kids can cause destruction. Well, AJU6 can already destruct things, but at least I can very easily prevent it because he isn’t mobile!

  • Andrea

    How wonderful that you now have stories to tell about your own children…instead of patiently and wistfully having to listen to the tales of other mothers. Praise the Lord!

  • Corinna Groom

    Haha, I just left a comment on FB on one of your photos. Looks like your a little more like me than I thought. 🙂 Your photos are great though and will make great memories! God Bless you and your sweet family!

  • Corinna Groom

    oops, “you’re”. ( God’s trying to humble me….I always dislike the misuse of your and you’re )

