Weekend Inquiry: Would You Do It?

I have just discovered the concept of a family closet, and I’m wondering if it’s something to consider in my apartment in St. Louis.  So check out the link if you need to and then let me know what you think:

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

10 responses to “Weekend Inquiry: Would You Do It?

  • Kristi-Anna

    Ok, it’s only on my wish list now, b/c I have seen it!! I don’t really have room to put it, but am thinking now of where in the basement I CAN do it!!! hmmm…. thinking cap.

  • AJU5's Mom

    Right now, three of us share one closet, with AJU5’s stuff in her room. We plan on moving AJU6’s things in here when he is about 1. Our closet is big enough to hold everyone’s clothes, but I don’t see the big advantage of it at this point. I may change my mind in the future though!

  • Elizabeth

    In the sorority house, my closet was in a separate room, and I shared the closet with four other girls. It worked really well for me at the time and helped control the clutter in the actual room I shared with four girls. And it is the only walk-in closet I’ve ever had!

  • Roberta

    Cor, if your family of 4 needs even 1/2 of that storage space, you may just have too much cr*p. Personally, I’d get rid of an awful lot of stuff before I’d give up a room that could be put to other uses (like a guest room, library, craft room…) to storing clothes.

  • Peggy

    I think it’s a great idea if it’s immediately adjacent to the laundry, otherwise, it’s as much work as it saves.
    I don’t think I’d try it in an apartment though unless you have a storage/laundry room that is large enough.
    It’s really not necessary with just two of us, but if someday there are four or six of us, I’d give it a whirl.

  • melissa

    I would just love a large hall closet in which to put all our clothes in one place. We were just talking about that this week. I was sneaking into the kids rooms to put away laundry at midnight and thought how convenient it would be to have everyone’s clothes in one spot. Maybe in our next place…

    I agree with the “more space, more crap” philosophy, though. Keep your space small, and you’ll be forced to have only what you need!

  • June

    I think the concept of sharing space is a good idea especially in an apartment. I don’t think it would have to be a separate room though. You could just share one or two large closets and outfit it with better storage. Closets are so bad for wasted space anyways. That would leave more room space if you can eliminate dressers, or use the dressers in other areas of the apartment. At one point we had a one bedroom apartment with two adults and two kids. It was challenging but worked out just fine.

  • Jawan

    I can’t comment…..I have too much crap.

  • Corinna Groom

    Oh, I love this idea. There are 6 of us here and I am fighting the clothing and sock wars everyday. In fact my love seat is consumed by piles of folded clothes at this very moment and there are at least 3 other laundry baskets in various stages in my 10 by 10 bedroom. 6 people and about 1200 square feet makes for alot of laundry and not much room for it. Unfortunately I had to vote no because I really don’t have anyplace for a room like this but I would if I could!

  • Lollie

    Hmmm, it looks ideal. But I can see the room becoming total Chaos! We’re just not neat enough to keep up the organization. I’d have to stand on guard duty! hahaha

