A Sovereign God Can Heal – Even When He Isn’t Asked

This is a picture of my daughter eating a grilled cheese sandwich.  There is no following photograph of her in an ambulance, or being nailed with an epi pen, or guzzling a bottle of Benadryl.  Why?  Because God has healed my daughter’s allergy.

Today we took her to the allergist for a “just before we move” check up.  He is a great doctor, and he chatted with me about my observations in the nine months since we had been there.  Then he asked me, as he generally does, if I want to go ahead and re-test her.  In August of ’09 we retested her and she reacted at 13 mm – only slightly less severe than her first test of 15 mm in August ’08.  Today her test was, in the doctor’s words, “stone cold negative.”

From here on out this very nice, but very lost, allergist went on to explain that children are likely to outgrown milk allergies, and would I like to test feed her some milk in the office, or do it at home.  I finally asked him if it was common to go from 13 mm to less than 2 mm (the test prick is 1 mm) in nine months.  He was quiet for a moment and then said, “No.  I don’t see that very often.”

I wish I would have had the courage to tell him right then that God had healed my daughter; but all I was thinking, was, “What can I feed her to test this out?”

Once we got into the van I told the mackerdoodle that the doctor said cow’s milk might not make her sick any more.  “What would you like to eat with cow’s milk in it?”  I asked.  She said, “A cheese sandwich.  With pepperoni.”  So that’s what she got.  How does she feel about this new major freedom?

I am just in awe that the whole time we’ve been focusing our prayers on our move, God’s been saying: “Yeah, I got that.  I’ve got a lot more than that.”  It’s a beautiful mercy we hadn’t even thought to ask for.  Isn’t it good that God isn’t limited to our finite imaginations?

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.  Ephesians 3:20, 21

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

10 responses to “A Sovereign God Can Heal – Even When He Isn’t Asked

  • julie

    Wow, that’s so great! I’d go with ice-cream next haha!

  • Corinna Groom

    Amazing, and a great reminder that God looks after us even when we don’t think to ask. Proof of His great love for us! What a blessing!

  • Jawan

    Hey Moriah! Want some yogurt and ice cream and Nutella and Hershey Kisses next time I see ya? I’ll mail them to you….well, maybe not. I’ll just come and visit and watch you treat yourself. So happy for you and this “new world” of food you’re encountering!

  • Jennifer Cox

    Praise God! So good to here the good news!

  • Kim Crist

    Praise the Lord! Isn’t God so good to us. I’m thankful that this will be one less stressor on your relocation adventure out west! 🙂

  • Pati Allen

    Oh Coralie I’m sooooo happy for Moriah! and for you. I’m sure is going to take you more time to get used to not (ALWAYS)thinking about it, than for her.
    Praise the Lord!!!

  • Carole

    God is so kind to us..giving us so much,,even when we haven’t asked..praise His Holy Name

  • Loran Montgomery

    I speak for Clan Montgomery when I say, “ROCK ON, MORIAH!”

    That is so wonderful, I’m all choked up even thinking about it.

    It’s more proof that God wants you two to move to Wisconsin. 🙂

  • Kacie

    That’s so great!! What a blessing to not have to worry about Mackerdoodle’s food allergy any more! We’re so happy for you guys!

  • Kristi-Anna

    That’s awesome!!! We have a friend whose son has the dairy allergy too. He’s outgrown it to the degree that his Mom no longer worries if the ingr. list says “may contain traces of dairy.” I wonder if he’s outgrownhis allergy too.

    KA

