Give Us This Day Our Day Old Bread

So have you ever wondered what manna looked like?  Well I know the original manna didn’t look anything like this table, but for a group of us in my neighborhood, this is bread from heaven – via St. Louis Bread Company.  Panera Bread (As STL Bread is known in the rest of the world) has a program that donates their day old bread to low-income families, and seminary students qualify.

I don’t know all the details.  I just know that one of the young women in my neighborhood sent out an e-mail inviting us to come get some free bread from her house Friday evening.  When the appointed time arrived, I grabbed a cloth shopping bag (and my kids) and crossed the street, following the foot traffic of other people with cloth bags (and kids).

Arriving at her porch, I was a little overwhelmed at the sheer vastness and variety of the baked goods available.  There were boxes and bags and boxes and bags of bread and goodies.  I filled my tote with bread, and collected four cinnamon rolls for breakfast the next morning, and after meeting some new neighbors (well, I guess I’m the new neighbor.  They’ve lived here longer than I have.  I was just meeting them for the first time.) and chatting with several I already know, I retreated to my home and fed my children sourdough grilled cheese sandwiches.

Saturday afternoon I checked my e-mail to find three ever more plaintiff e-mails from this same neighbor asking us to come collect some more bread.  The last one had this picture (look left) and said:

I’m serious, folks, please come and take some!! This is what we still have! And if you’ve already come by, and you still have room in your freezer, please come get some more!!

So we did.  Wouldn’t you?

Yeah, it’s not fresh bread, so we had to freeze it all immediately and I’ll have to toast or other wise cook it, but it was *free*, so I’m not exactly complaining.   Saturday we had french bread pizza (on an asiago cheese baguette!  SO YUMMY).  Today it’s french toast.  Tomorrow it’s French onion soup. (I’m noticing a french trend.  Hmm)

Now you may be thinking that all of this free bread is a great blessing, but I’ll probably still  be making my own bread.  If you’re thinking that, clearly you have me confused with another woman.  “Make bread” has been crossed off my to-do list for the foreseeable future.  It has been replaced with “find recipes in which to use day old bread.”

I’m open for suggestions.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

6 responses to “Give Us This Day Our Day Old Bread

  • Kristi-Anna

    Stuffing, bread crumbs…. croutons… um, toast!

  • Kacie

    I did know that Bread Co. donated day-old products, and that’s awesome you guys are able to partake! They have amazing bread, and it’s still really good even if it’s a day old. 🙂

  • melissa

    Bread pudding – Zac and I love bread pudding. Bri has this strange aversion to “soggy bread” in any form – but I love bread pudding. Use any of those things- about one loaf (raisin bread is sublime – if you don’t use raisin bread, add a cup of raisins, too) and break them into a bowl in bite size pieces, In another bowl mix about two cups of milk, an egg, about 1/2c sugar (if using sweet bread, use less sugar) and vanilla and beat together, then pour over bread sprinkle some brown sugar on top and bake in moderate oven for about a half hour or until it has become firm. Serve warm with a dollop of whipped cream. MMMMM. Breakfast, dessert, yum. You can obviously half this recipe for a smaller portion.

    Oh, and french toast.

  • Carole

    What a great blessing…how often does it come?
    my nana used to make a dessrt with an old bread base topped with jam then a layer of meringue.
    It was yummy. She called it “Queen pudding”

  • Sandi

    Mmmm, garlic cheese bread. Spread a loaf (or slice) with garlic butter, or butter and garlic powder, sprinkle with grated cheese and broil until toasted and bubbly. We love it with soup or chili. You could skip the cheese for garlic toast if you wish.

    Or, bruschetta. I often serve bruschetta for lunch. I use fresh, diced tomatoes, a little olive oil, some italian spices, etc. Then toast the bread first under the broiler (so it won’t get soggy), top with brushetta and fresh grated parmesan. Broil again until cheese is bubbly and tomatoes are heated through.

  • Just Go Ahead and Break Out the Cane « Life More Abundantly

    […] the day I picked up our day old bread, I was chatting with the young woman responsible for bread distribution and had the worst of the […]

