This is in the top five of the hardest blog posts I have ever written . . .

Seminary is expensive.  I’m not talking tuition and books, because really, in the scheme of things, they amount to a tiny drop in the bucket of expenses.  The primary reason Seminary is so expensive is time.

Now stay with me.  This isn’t some ethereal “value of your days” post.  This is just simple math.

When the breadwinner of a family is pursuing a full-time endeavor that pays him nothing, he is thereby precluded from doing with those hours something that would pay him something.  There are only a set number of hours in the week, and if one hopes to survive the four years of seminary, eating and sleeping should find its way into the mix somewhere; therefore there must be items to eat, and shelter under which to sleep.  Therefore there must be a breadwinner who works for pay.

At the beginning of our marriage, Jonathan was in college and we both worked.  For the last two years of his college experience I had two (at one point three) jobs, he worked at a church and was a full-time student.  We passed like room mates in the night, knowing that it was only for a season.  This time around, however, I am also involved in a full-time endeavor that pays nothing: motherhood.  It is a blessed answer to prayer and I wouldn’t trade it for Warren Buffet’s millions, but it’s left us wondering how do families make this work for four years?

We’ve asked a lot of our new neighbors and the answer that gets repeated over and over is, they raise support.

Frankly we’d never heard of it.  Who raises support to do an M.Div.?  Turns out, a lot of people.

Right now Jonathan is getting about 30 hours each week at Chick-Fil-A on top of super condensed Greek and he’s spread pretty thin.  I can’t imagine him doing much more.  So we’re having to explore some other options.  Like raising support.

We’re in the midst of putting together a plan, but if you would like to hear more about this, drop me an e-mail and I’ll put you on our mailing list.  I’m not going to turn the blog into a seminary fund-raising engine, but I blog about my life, and right now this is a part of that.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “This is in the top five of the hardest blog posts I have ever written . . .

  • Jawan

    We’d support you….every penny counts. We will both reap the benefits.

  • Megan

    You wanna finally meet up sometime soon and grab some coffee (I’ll pay)? I have a story to tell you. Might be encouraging, might be discouraging, regardless it’s real. We survived seminary, but barely…

