A Good Business Idea: Feel Free to Use It

Chairs just begging to be redeemed.

I have a bad habit of coming up with ideas that are completely impossible for me to achieve at the moment, while not at all being able to brainstorm a single practical solution to real life situations.  Case in point:

I have been trying to arrange the kitchen in the apartment for a month and I always turn up needing a drawer I don’t have.  Right now my silver ware is sitting in a plastic tray on the counter – not a practical solution at all!  On the other hand, I spend at least 45 minutes two or three times a week, watching the “free” section of Craig’s list and fantasizing about turning the cast offs into beautiful “before and after” transformations.  You know, because I have all this time, space and money for materials.

But my brain doesn’t stop there.  Oh no.  Soon I’m planning a business in which I collect abandoned furniture, restore it and sell it.  I have named the business “Redeemed”  and every piece of furniture would come with a “before” photograph of it at its worst.  I would, of course, disclose this to anyone from whom I liberate free furniture and have them sign a waiver.

I think it’s a good idea, but how does a stay at home mom with two kids in car seats and a husband in seminary and only one car between them, drive around a city liberating furniture?  And once I liberated the furniture how would I afford the materials and tools to restore it properly?  See what I mean?  Completely impractical.  My brain is a strange place to live.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “A Good Business Idea: Feel Free to Use It

  • Carole

    I will contact you when we have sold our Houston house and our furniture is ready to be “redeemed”…ok ideas lady ?

