Looking Back There Were Clues . . .

So you remember a few weeks ago, right before the mackerdoodle’s birthday, I had a weird virus thing for a day and a half.  I felt like I had been hit by a truck and I threw up and I just generally felt disgusting. I felt better for the mackerdoodle’s birthday and subsequent relaxing days at the in-laws rented condo with three pools.  If better is defined as “no more body aches and an absence of vomiting.”

Twice a day while were there Jonathan asked me, “Are you okay?  You seem really on edge.”  Me?  On edge?  Of course not.  It’s just that the world had become suddenly and irrationally stupid.  For instance, after coming home I was browning some pork sausage for pasta sauce, and the sausage smelled so horrible cooking it made me angry!  Meat for consumption has no business smelling that bad when it is cooking!  This should be an enjoyable experience, and instead this ground pig product is smelling so bad I JUST WANT TO THROW THE CAST IRON FRYING PAN OUT THE WINDOW!

Why would he think I was on edge?

After that periodically I would have moments of weirdness:  afternoon lightheadedness,  a feeling of overwhelming exhaustion around two in the afternoon followed by a burst of energy around supper time, slight nausea in the morning until I ate some breakfast. . .

So after Jonathan’s parents went home I began to think about things and I knew I was feeling off, so one morning I was picking up some things we needed around the house and I thought, “I’ll just get a pregnancy test, to rule that out, and then I’ll really focus on eating well and exercise and getting healthy.”

Are you guessing where this is going?

We didn’t believe the first test.  I mean after years of infertility, here we are taking steps to avoid pregnancy during seminary.  We’ve always been good at avoiding pregnancy.  It’s the other that’s been a challenge.  Until now.  After the third positive we had to accept what we were seeing.  It’s a good thing I did the test that day, because within three days I was full into pregnancy sickness. I’ve had to stop and throw up twice while typing this.

Thing is, Jonathan’s parents were traveling home from visiting us, without cell phones and with no way to reach them.   I wasn’t about to blog the news until we could share the news personally!  I reached them yesterday and I’m blogging today.

The last two times I went through this I had back-up.  I worked with my husband, we were together almost every minute of the day, and he took over a lot of the “Oh I’ve got to puke!  I can’t cook this” moments.  This time around he’s a little occupied, what with full time school and full time work.  This is going to be a completely different experience, and  I would really appreciate your prayers as we all go through it.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

16 responses to “Looking Back There Were Clues . . .

  • Marianne

    Beautiful Coralie!!! You are so blessed! I’m sorry you’re so sick, but I’m so happy for you and your family. Congratulations!! XOXOX

  • Corinna Groom

    So, so happy for you! Will pray for God’s mercy in the nausea dept. May God give you strength for each day.

  • Kacie

    Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you guys. I can’t stop smiling 🙂 What a blessing from the Lord! The nausea is awful, but hopefully it will go away soon. We’ll pray for strength for you and a great pregnancy.

  • Roberta

    Congratulations. An unexpected baby is joyous and a blessing and also a bit scary, no matter how happy you are. May you know the peace that passes all understanding as you grow used to this new one’s presence.

  • Lollie

    Congratulations!! That is so exciting! As soon as I read “the world had become suddenly and irrationally stupid.” I thought “She’s preggo!!!” hahaha! I think I actually did through out a cast iron pan in one pregnancy;)
    Lots of love to you! I will be praying for you!

  • Carole

    Finally I can tell the world about another gift from God…congrats again my dear

  • AJU5's Mom

    Congratulations! Somewhere in the back of my mind I wondered… especially since all of my pregnancies have been like that – unplanned by everyone by God!

  • Jawan

    Wish I could live next door to you so The Mack and The Cheese could come over and play while you rested, puked, cleaned the puke, cooked, puked some more, cleaned, and rested again. Yeah, that would be sweet….the children, that is…not the puke.

  • Elizabeth

    Congratulations! I’ll definitely be praying for you and your family.

  • Kim D. in TX

    Congratulations! I will be praying for you and your family!

  • Betsy

    Yay Coralie! How exciting!! We’ll be happy to help how we can!!

  • Wendy Robinson

    Dearest Coralie and Jonathan

    What wonderful news another sweet Cowan baby coming into the world. I have to admid I did wonder when you pronounced “I’m not pregnant” but thought she should know. So now you do. I know you have been told, in the past, how to stop the nausea and have tried them all (probably to no avail) so will not give advice. Just take care of yourself and rest when the children are resting. Love You and will watch as you post developments.
    Love Auntie Wendy

  • laura

    CONGRATS! How exciting for your family.

  • Thelma

    Coralie!!! Praise the Lord! Congratulations to you and Jonathan! Praying for a happy and healthy 9 months!

  • Terri

    Hey! I’m just now getting to the computer, but I heard the news on Friday. CONGRATULATIONS! Buddy said that apparently your flood gates have opened. 🙂 I’m so glad for y’all, but I’ll confess, I’m a little jealous, too. However, after turning 40, I think I’m content with the two I have. Glad you found the milk thistle remedy. Maybe that will make your pregnancy more enjoyable this time around.

