I Keep Telling Myself It’s an Honor

In the Chick-fil-a world grand openings are like the Superbowl combined with the Olympics.  The way to climb the ladder, get noticed, be appreciated, and generally curry favor on high is to work a grand opening.  Managers travel around the nation working grand openings, doing things in the “fresh out of the wrapper” stores that they would delegate to someone else in their own stores.  But it’s a grand opening, and that makes it All Different.

This week there is a Chick-Fil-A grand opening in Arnold, MO.  Arnold is roughly 30 minutes from the seminary and almost 45 minutes from where we live, but Jonathan has worked in a free standing unit, so he was selected to represent his current store at the grand opening.  This should be such an honor.  On Saturday he will even get to meet Dan Cathy, the CEO of Chick-Fil-A.  For any other manager, this is a tremendous opportunity to be Noticed, and Appreciated, and maybe even Remembered.  For Jonathan it means more driving, longer hours and coming home at midnight with 45 pages left to read for class at 8 am.

I am struggling this week to see this as anything other than robbing me of my few precious minutes of husband time.  So I’m asking you to pray for my attitude, and pray for my husband, and pray that we’ll be able to raise consistent support to help alleviate Jonathan of some of this burden.    But mostly pray that I will be able to see God’s provision as just that, and not as an inconvenience.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “I Keep Telling Myself It’s an Honor

