How Government Beaurocracy Helped Us Make a Decision

I think most of you regulars know that I am not a fan of big government.  And that is an understatement.  In the last two years, I have had a better look at the inside of government inefficiency and byzantine policies than ever before and it has done nothing to change my mind.

One such experience has been this third (fourth) pregnancy.  When we moved and purchased private health insurance for our seminary time, we chose not to have maternity coverage.  We had two beautiful children and were going to be avoiding pregnancy and maternity coverage would have almost doubled my premium which was pretty expensive for “just in case.”  And then, surprise, we needed maternity coverage.  So I am on pregnancy medicaid.

I am also of “advanced maternal age” this time around the pregnancy track and such a label comes with increased risk of  . . . well, everything.  There are some early non invasive screenings that most doctors recommend for women who are over 35, and they need to be done between 12 and 14 weeks into the pregnancy.  My doctor in Georgia wouldn’t be your doctor if you didn’t do them, but the doctor here was very flexible and left it up to us.

Did we want the early screening or not? The thing is, that the only reason to screen so early is to catch a pregnancy within the “legal abortion” window if something is wrong.  Everything the early screening detects will be detected later in other scans and tests and will be far more accurately diagnosed.  So did we want the early screening or not?  There is nothing morally or ethically wrong in the tests themselves.  So did we want the early screening or not?

In the midst of this, my medicaid paperwork got all messed up and for two weeks I was assigned to the wrong provider, so my doctor couldn’t see me.  The reason?  I received my enrollment package two days after the deadline to enroll in a provider program.  I called the “helpful” 800 number and was told that it wasn’t their problem.  They fixed it, of course, but only after a two week waiting period and a series of duplicate phone calls.

So I’m scheduled to see my O.B. today at 13 1/2 weeks into my pregnancy – too late to schedule the early screenings, and with a big dilemma lifted from my shoulders.  God used government inefficiency to make the call for me.  Proof that God is sovereign even over gargantuan labyrinthine government programs that seem to take on a life of their own.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “How Government Beaurocracy Helped Us Make a Decision

  • Marianne

    I’m debating whether to email you about this… perhaps later if you’re interested in more info. Anyway, my best friend from college is a self-employed chiropractor in St. Louis. Even though she makes a decent living, the maternity insurance was too expensive for her. She decided to go the home birth route (she just had her second at age 35) with both of her pregnancies. The only thing she paid for was the actual doctor attending the birth and a few prenatal appointments, which ended up being significantly less than her premium.

    I feel like since pregnancy has become a medical condition (don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for the advances in medicine), we all feel sort of handcuffed by how things are done.

  • Carole

    One more excellent example of how God is totally in charge

  • Jawan

    I like it when you use big words (gargantuan labyrinthine)…another reason why I miss you so much.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Sincerely praying for a completely normal pregnancy, birth, and baby so that all of the medical extras are just a very good back-up plan that never need to be used!

