Pinching Either Way

My mackerdoodle is a traditionalist.  She likes to do things the same way every time.  Bed time routine has to go down pretty much the same way every night.  We have to do catechism questions in the kitchen, because that’s where we used to do them in Georgia.  Ever since she was old enough to articulate a preference, bath time has had to include her hooded “super towel.”  It had to be her pink super towel, not one of her brothers blue towels.

Until two weeks ago.

Two weeks ago, the mackerdoodle announced that she was a big girl, and she would like a big towel like I used please.

On one hand it’s a practical solution.  She’s getting too tall for the hooded towels, and if the snickerdoodle is a girl, she would need those towels.

But on the other hand, I was sad to fold those little hooded pieces of tradition and lay them aside.  She’s growing up and my little baby has been left in the dust by a “big girl” who is aiming for older with sheer determination.

I know that if she wasn’t growing up, for any reason, I would be grieving that.  I know that this will be the rule of things for the rest of my relationship with her – her pressing herself toward independence, while I fold and put away little pieces of tradition along the way.  I wouldn’t want it to be any other way, but it still pinches when it happens.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “Pinching Either Way

  • Lollie

    Beautiful real life illustration. They always seem to be in hurry to get there, never sad to leave the “littles” behind. I guess that’s why we try to keep those pieces that we put away, so we can look back and remember them:)

  • Donna Long

    I have folded and put away. Now I am pushing forward with my baby girl as we prepare for her to enjoy motherhood. Time does fly. Enjoy every minute!

  • Tera Montgomery

    I think I am wanting to hold on too tight to my littlest. If I am unwilling to give up what appears to be my last baby, that may be why she is over a year behind some of her peers in potty-training and still has her “pop-pop”. When does my need to hold on become her years of psychotherapy? 🙂

  • Mary Beth

    This post made me tear up, and I don’t think it is only because I’m pregnant!

