Someone Wrote a Song About Me and My Husband.

Driving home from a Cracker Barrel dinner (brought to us courtesy of generous Mom and Dad) tonight, and the mackerdoodle riding in Papa’s truck with Nana and Papa (a must do for each trip) Jonathan and I were able to hear an entire song on the radio and the song we heard was written apparently about us.  Jonathan was 20 and I was 19 when we got engaged, and we’ve been married 15 years.  We didn’t have the wisdom to get rings at a pawn shop (good idea!) but marriage was certainly harder than we thought it would be.

15 (and a half) years later I can’t imagine dancing in minefields and sailing the storms with anyone else but my Jonathan.

I’m embedding the whole song, but my favorite part is:

So when I lose my way, find me
When I lose loves chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith
to the end of all my days
when I forget my name, remind me

Cause we bear the light of the son of man
So there’s nothing left to fear
So I’ll walk with you in the shadow lands
Till the shadows disappear
Cause he promised not to leave us
And his promises are true
So in the face of all this chaos baby
I can dance with you

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “Someone Wrote a Song About Me and My Husband.

  • Jonathan

    To my wonderful wife, I can’t imagine life without you.
    The merciful God of heaven has truly blessed me.
    May God grant us the ability to dance together into the shadow lands.

  • Wendy Robinson

    An absolutely beautiful song that brought tears to my eyes. Your words about the song and how it applies to you and Jonathan are likewise wonderful. Thank-you for posting the song. Love Auntie Wendy
    P.S. Please give your Mom and Dad a hug for me. They look wonderful and hopefully are both feeling well. Your children are so beautiful with the most twinkling eyes. Family traits.

  • Lollie

    I love that song:)

  • Corinna Groom

    Coralie, this song couldn’t possibly be about you and Jonathan because it was definately written for Keith and I! 🙂 We have this song playing almost everyday. It’s on both of our phones and currently in our van’s CD player. I think our kids are sick of it but we love it so. I guess we can share. 😉 It is a great song.

  • suzanne

    Oh no you didn’t post a song that just made me cry. Geez louise.

