The Click, Clack, Moo Success

Saturday’s performance of Click, Clack, Moo:  Cow’s That Type was a huge success.  It wasn’t Broadway, but we played to a packed house and rave “reviews” and my daughter spent the rest of Saturday afternoon running around my living room saying, “Cows that type?  Hens on strike?  How am I supposed to run a farm with no milk and no eggs?”  Farmer Brown was her favorite character.

Several of the parents remarked to me and the director that they wished there were more kid oriented productions like this periodically on campus.  The third time I heard it, my soul jumped up on a chair and began to shout, “I can do that!  That is exactly my gifting and skills!  Let me at it!  I can MAKE THAT HAPPEN!”  But my brain slapped it down off that chair before it could get access to my mouth and feet.  My brain was tired.

Four rehearsals and a ten minute performance isn’t exactly high octane commitment level, but between Jonathan’s schedule, our one vehicle and the age of our kids, just accomplishing that became the most challenging venture of my last six months!  Something that I would have worked into my spare time four years ago became a driving force of my entire schedule last week.  As I pondered the thought of an ongoing endeavor I began to think, “Okay, maybe not right now, but next year,” and my brain answered, “When you have an infant,  and are potty training a strong willed toddler?”  The more I thought, the more I realized that these seminary years are pretty much booked up as “full time mama” in triplicate.

It won’t always be so.  I won’t always have small, very dependent children.  I won’t always have a husband working full time and doing full time seminary.  It won’t always look like this.  But for the next 3 1/2 years of seminary it will and I wouldn’t trade it for a run on Broadway and a Tony nomination.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “The Click, Clack, Moo Success

  • Jawan

    That’s what I’m talkin’ about.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Congratulations on the success of your production 🙂 It is so good that it all inspires such passion in you but I am thankful that God was gracious and put all of that wonderfulness in your path so that you can’t do more productions right now 🙂

