20 Weeks

I’m halfway through this pregnancy and I told my husband, and later my sister, that I didn’t reach 20 weeks.  20 weeks reached out, grabbed me and gave me a swirly.  Figuratively speaking of course.

I believe this is the Lord confirming that we will have three children in our family.  The older I get the harder pregnancy is on my body.  A few weeks ago I began doing the math and realized that if we followed our pattern for a fourth child, I would be giving birth just before my 39th birthday, meaning I would end up weaning a baby somewhere around my 40th birthday.  I know other people do it.  I am happy for those other people.  I don’t want to be those people.

The really funny thing is, that I seem to have this view limited to myself.  If one of my friends (say Jawan, or Tera or Jennifer) close to my age announced they were pregnant it would never cross my mind that they were too old for that stuff.  I would be thrilled for them; delighted in fact.  And to quote my friend Becky, be happy it was them and not me.

The Lord has met the desires of my heart, exceeded our prayers and filled my arms and now He’s giving me contentment to rest in that provision.  I’ll just waddle through these next 20 weeks.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

3 responses to “20 Weeks

  • Becky

    Do we know what gender this third blessing is yet?
    Missing you.

  • Wendy Robinson

    I think you are finding this pregnancy harder, not because of age but because of the increased demands – having 2 children to tend to. We had our 4th child when I was 39, and my mother had her 4th child at age 40. My cousin had her third at age 43. My sister-in-law has always said it kept my mom young. I’m not sure about me-people are either just being nice or they are blind but people always say I look younger than I am. When I look in the mirror I see all 63 years worth of wrinkles. You will know for certain after you have this baby and get settled into a three children family routine.
    I agree you have been truly blessed as have I.
    Love You Auntie Wendy

  • Marianne

    I’m 35 and I’ll be 35 1/2 when the Jelly Bean is born. I’m praying that we’ll be blessed with more children (and that when I suggest it to Joe, he doesn’t freak the heck out!!), but if not – it’s okay. I am, by far, the oldest person in my family to have a baby. In fact, on my mom’s side, I’m the only woman in the past three generations to NOT have a baby before 20 (twenty!). I’m also one of two to have gotten married before I had children and the only person to have graduated from college. (That makes me sound judgy and I don’t mean it that way.) Anyway, I’ve been getting a lot of criticism for having kids “SO OLD.” I’m finding this pregnancy really hard right now. One, because I’m having to tie everything up at work. Two, because I’m getting little to no support from my family. And three, life with a two year old is just tough sometimes. 🙂

    I have no idea where I was going with this… but I’m thinking of you Coralie and praying for a safe and healthy pregnancy for you. I love reading about your life and your children. I think you’re just amazing.

