Going(Coming) Home

A year and a half ago my parents moved across Canada to be closer to all of their grandchildren and sons in law.  Oh and me and my sister.  Possibly in that order.  🙂  They purchased a cute brick retirement home in a little hamlet in southern Ontario and have settled down into a geography and sociology with which I am completely unfamiliar.  I have never once wished they were back in my little home town.  It was so hard to get to that last minute trips like the one we just took were completely impossible, and all trips (especially with children) were just really difficult.  We used to see them once a year, now we see them once a quarter.  The move was a good one.

It does, however, mean that when we travel to see my family there is no element at all of “going home.”  We were visitors in the churches we attended, and strangers on the roads.  We really loved our trip and our mackerdoodle is asking at least twice a day when we can move to Canada to be near her cousins, but we were guests while we were there.

It’s happened before and it wasn’t a surprise.  The real surprise for me was that coming back to our seminary apartment in St. Louis didn’t feel like coming home either.  The sights of the city were familiar and setting foot in our own place with our own things was comfortable, but it didn’t have that “exhale” quality of arriving home.

Despite all of my protests that we weren’t going to view seminary as temporary apparently I am doing just that.  Maybe it’s because I know that half of my new friends are graduating in June and moving away.  Perhaps it’s because we’re continually being asked where we want to settle after seminary.  Or it could be that I was so unprepared for how much I would miss our friends and our life that the Lord had built in Georgia and I just don’t want to miss another place like that again.

But probably it’s just that we’ve only been here seven months and no one feels at home after only seven months anywhere.

Probably.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

4 responses to “Going(Coming) Home

  • suzanne

    I feel the exact same way (about St. Louis). It does get better and it does feel more like home, but I’m ready to be somewhere where the end of my time there doesn’t hang like a dark cloud over all of the joyous occasions. Maybe that won’t exist until Heaven.

  • Tera Montgomery

    I felt that way about Georgia for most of the time we lived there. And then, all of a sudden, seemingly just before we moved up here, Georgia felt like home. This move felt like home almost immediately even though I had never been to this part of the state before but it was MY state. I miss what I had in Georgia SO much that I have to keep reminding myself that an awful lot of what I loved in Georgia isn’t there anymore but in Missouri and Texas and Germany and Washington and Virginia and…well, you know 🙂
    Praying that you will feel what you need to feel when you need to feel it…how’s that 🙂

  • Carole

    The move was indeed a good one,we can share in all the day to day happenings of our family…thank you Lord.

  • On Canada and Other Wonders of the World « Life More Abundantly

    […] while I have posted about the beginning of our trip, and the end of the trip, I have failed completely to bring you, my faithful readers (hi Aunty Lily and Mom and Dad Cowan) […]

