Some Random Thoughts on Daily Life

Here is a snapshot glimpse into the life of the Cowan family right now:

  1. Classes begin again on the 27th of January, and Jonathan is part of a grand opening team at a new Chick-Fil-A the first week of February.  Right now he has a raging cold and is praying he’ll be healthy to hit his full plus schedule.
  2. Today the mackerdoodle woke up with a runny nose and sneezes.  The cheesedoodle has bags under his eyes and brought me the ear drops just before lunch.  I know this is the way of winter.  I’m spraying all surfaces with disinfectant and pouring boiling water on the toothbrushes and praying I’ll be spared.
  3. I have to do a three hour blood glucose test next Monday to test for gestational diabetes.  Ugh.
  4. Nesting has hit, and now that I’m in the midst of it, I remember the same thing happening at the same time with my other two.  In my first two trimesters I feel sick and tired and miserable and I say things like, “That’s it.  I can’t do this again!”  Then I get 6 – 8 weeks of crazy nesting energy.  Yesterday I washed cabinets and walls and mopped floors and did laundry.  I think the Braxton Hicks contractions beginning at 5:30 pm running until 9:30 pm was my body telling me to chill for a second.  I’m back at it today, because the sight of every part of my house is driving me crazy.
  5. Yesterday the mackerdoodle asked me why my stomach was squishy and squashy.  “Does that mean snickerdoodle is squishy and squashy?”  she asked.  Maybe a gestational diabetes diet wouldn’t be so bad for me.
  6. I got 100 prints from Snapfish for .99 (total, not each) so we ordered new years cards.  They arrived yesterday and now they are sitting on my dishwasher taunting me that I have to mail them.  During the nesting induced B-H contractions tonight I’ll write a letter to go with them.  I wonder how many envelopes I have in the stationary box?

Well, now I’ve got to get back to the house.  That grout in the bathroom won’t scrub itself.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

