Being Prepared for Disappointment

The National Weather Service issued the following warning for my city on Saturday evening:

SLU ANALOGS COMPARE THIS UPCOMING WINTER STORM TO THE 1982 SNOW
STORM THAT MANY REMEMBER IN ST. LOUIS AS THE BLIZZARD OF 82…AND
THE JANUARY 30 2006 ICE AND SNOW EVENT THAT LEFT NEARLY 500000
PEOPLE WITHOUT POWER FOR DAYS ACROSS EASTERN MISSOURI AND ILLINOIS.

THIS WINTER STORM HAS THE POTENTIAL TO PRODUCE CRIPPLING AMOUNTS OF
SLEET AND SNOW…IN EXCESS OF 12 INCHES…AND ICE ACCUMULATIONS IN
EXCESS OF 1/2 INCH. ICE ACCUMULATION OF THIS MAGNITUDE WOULD LEAD
TO POWER OUTAGES FROM DOWNED TREES AND POWER LINES.

The storm is supposed to begin Monday morning and run through Wednesday.

I had plans for Wednesday morning.  Wednesday was the first “Parent’s Morning Out” of the semester and both of my kids were going to be in the capable hands of trained professionals for two hours while I got to have coffee with Becky.  The last time I had coffee with a friend without kids around was . . . I don’t know, but it was with Jawan, back in Georgia.  It’s been months, probably close to a year!

So I’m all stocked up for a nasty storm.  We have batteries for the flashlight.  I have the sleeping bags and all the extra blankets out and on hand.  We have charcoal for our grill so we can cook, and I have filled jugs with water in case the water mains freeze.

I can’t, however, stock up against the silly disappointment of my delayed plans.  There are a lot of Wednesdays in this semester.  I’m sure we can reschedule.   It can’t snow every Wednesday until April, can it?

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Being Prepared for Disappointment

