Daily Archives: February 18, 2011

Things I Love Part Four: My Parents and a Heritage of Faith

This is the last post in my series.  Some would think that I would finish up with a post about my kids, and I do love them.  Anyone who reads my blog knows I love my kids.  They get a lot of attention and will continue to be a focus of the blog, because I blog life, and my kids are my life right now.  Instead I want to focus on some people that I have honored less than my husband in blog posts, but who deserve to be highly praised:  my parents and my parents-in-law.

My parents became Christians the year I was born, because a baby like I was drives a set of parents either to substance abuse or to their knees.  You think I’m kidding.  I’m not.  What began as a trial for my parents was a blessing for me, because I have never known my parents without the power of Christ at work in their lives.  Together my dad and mom laid a foundation of biblical instruction and faithful life example that was one of the key tools the Lord used in drawing me to himself, and has continued to use as I grow in my faith.

Both of my parents have been teachers and leaders within the church for as long as I can remember.  They taught me most of what I know about Christian hospitality by hosting missionaries and visiting preachers and traveling musicians on a regular basis throughout my childhood.  Because of my parents and their commitment to exposing me to the things of the Lord as much as possible, I attended a Christian school for 10 years, and then a Christian college.  When we were traveling anywhere over a weekend, we still found a church to attend together as a family and our family always had a regularly scheduled time in the word on the weekdays.  Every morning before we walked to school, my mother prayed for me and my sister, and I remember innumerable times during the awkward middle school years coming home in tears to have my mother hold me, and pray for me.

Jonathan, too, was raised in a Christian home and was exposed to the church and the gospel from his earliest memories.  Not only his parents, but also both sets of his grandparents were actively involved in the church and passed the importance of that on to him.  It was his parents who suggested that he attend a small Christian college in Langley BC, the same college at which I was enrolled.  I praise the Lord for that daily.

When I speak to my friends and I hear their stories I so often praise the Lord for parents and in-laws who are still married, still in love with one another, and who love the Lord.  What a blessing it is to be able to tell my daughter when she asks that her Grandma and Grandpa and her Nana and Papa love the Lord and want to serve Him.  When we are training our children in the things of the God and the knowledge of His word, we are not doing so in a vacuum.  We are able to point to their heritage and to the covenant promises of God and show them that God is faithful not only to our little family, but to those who have come before us.

Mom and Dad, and Mom and Dad Cowan, thank you for loving us, and showing us the word and training us in righteousness.  Thank you for loving our kids and being standing stones of God’s faithfulness in their lives.  Thank you for laying a foundation of faith we are able to leave to the next generation.  Please forgive me for not saying it earlier, and more often.

