Ear Infections, Entropy and Everything Else

Last week things sort of fell apart around here.  The cheesedoodle had his first ear infection, and spent three days wanting nothing except to be held by his mama.  I spent a lot of time sitting on the couch blogging about the things I loved and reading stories to a sick and cranky little boy.  When I was finally able to put him down on Thursday, my body reminded me that I had effectually been carrying two children for three days, and my muscles were lodging a complaint with their union rep.

Friday and Saturday we were at a new member class at church.

Sunday was the Lord’s Day.

This morning I knew that something had to be done.

It’s not all done, but I was able to accomplish several tasks around the house that had been left undone for far too long.  It’s the life of a stay-at-home Mom that a few days out of routine can push my entire world out of orbit.  I’m still getting used to it, but it is getting easier.  The entropy gets easier to tackle each time. The clutter seems smaller, and less fearsome. The tasks, when approached one by one, seem less daunting.

It’s still a struggle to restore order to a home I have let run down, for whatever reason, but it is no longer a paralyzing, seemingly insurmountable challenge.

Baby steps, I guess.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Ear Infections, Entropy and Everything Else

