On Hospitality as Service

For as long as we’ve been married, Jonathan and I have loved having people in our home. For roughly ten years Jonathan did the cooking and I did the . . . smiling, and opening the door. That sounds lame when I type it out. It seemed a lot more equitable back then. Regardless, as I’ve become more proficient in cooking and especially now that I’m staying at home and Jonathan is . . . busy . . . I’ve taken up more of the duties of hospitality, and we still love doing it.

Honestly, until the last few weeks I have always seen it as a way of getting to know people, a way of spending time with people I like, I guess a way of being an extrovert without leaving home. Over the last few weeks several people have invited us for meals, and I have begun to realize what a double blessing it is to not have to worry about supper, and then to come home to a clean(ish) kitchen! being on the receiving end of someone else’s hospitality at the end of pregnancy has given me a new perspective on the purpose of hospitality.

I have always understood that scripture commands us to be hospitable, but it wasn’t until now that I have really understood that we serve people by bringing them into our home, for a meal, a night or a season of life.  It’s one of the ways we bear one another’s burdens. It’s a big part of being the family of God. Why did it take me this long to realize it?

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “On Hospitality as Service

  • Jawan

    I always loved being in your home….you invited us over much more than we ever had your family to our home. Wish that has been different. You were a blessing to our family in so many ways….esp. over dinner at your house!

  • Carole

    Am nowhere near as hospitable as I once was. More concerned about the food etc…grilled cheese on toast if company is not expected,is still ok. However everything else is difficult for me. I need to go with the flow and plan simply

