Chewing on the Loaves

Mark 6:51-52 (English Standard Version)

51And he got into the boat with them, and the wind ceased. And they were utterly astounded, 52for(A) they did not understand about the loaves, but their hearts(B) were hardened.

Our pastor here (as differentiated from our Georgia pastor. I’ve never had two pastors before.) is in the process of preaching through Matthew.  Last week was the feeding of the five thousand, and this week it was Jesus walking on water. First, I don’t think I have ever heard these passages preached back to back, despite them being consecutive and chronological. I have never seen them connected in any way. Second, I know I have never heard the passage of Jesus walking on water in a sermon that wasn’t all about Peter. Those statements were true until this Sunday and I’m still chewing on all of the implications.

I can’t go into all of the gospel truths that Mark brought out because frankly I don’t have the ability, or the memory, to transcribe the entire sermon.  There was, however, one big point that I have been dwelling on all week that I want to share with you: the disciples despaired in the storm because they didn’t understand Jesus’ provision of the loaves.

Mark said it this way: “We don’t get the loaves. Instead, what we apply to the moment is this storm.”

The Lord has provided for us in abundant and surprising ways repeatedly in the past. We have had so many of our own stories in which the Lord has taken a pittance and turned it into an abundant feast with leftovers for all; yet in the midst of a storm, or even a rain shower of inconvenience, I completely forget those moments, applying only the storm. Just like the disciples, I can so often be only moments from the amazing, miraculous provision of God, doubting that provision will carry me through the wind and rain.

All week I’ve been praying that in the storm I will be able to apply the lesson of the loaves, and I thought you might like to hear what I’ve been pondering.

For the rest of the sermon, you can click here and listen to “Deadly Distractions.”

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Chewing on the Loaves

  • Andrea

    We are often quick to fault the Israelites for their lack of faith in God’s provision while in the midst of their journey through the wilderness. What we/I fail to recognize is that we/I am often just like them! The Lord has repeatedly provided…yet I so easily forget his bounty – and instead become anxious about my circumstances. Thank you – and your Missouri pastor – for the reminder of our Lord’s abundant provision! We are currently weathering the storms of caring for an Alzheimer’s patient in our home…and, since December, praying for my father who was diagnosed with Acute Myelogenous Leukemia. The “bread” has come…not always in our preferred timing, but in God’s perfect timing.

