Feeling a Little Sorry for Myself

When I was 37 weeks pregnant with the cheesedoodle I got a stomach virus and spent several hours in the E.R. of a local hospital getting IV fluids. Today I am 34 weeks pregnant and I have a stomach virus of the same variety, but this time around I also have a son with a double ear infection, a daughter with viral sneezles and wheezles (going past a week now), a husband in seminary working ten hours tonight. I couldn’t spend 6 hours in the E.R. even if I felt inclined to do so, which I don’t.

At elevenish I was feeling sorry for myself. The children were still in their pajamas, I hadn’t kept anything in my stomach since more than 12 hours before, the cheesedoodle’s eyes looked like something out of an aliens movie and the last time I threw up something popped in my neck and I couldn’t look right, only left. I was PITIFUL I tell ya!

And then, a friend from church and seminary and Chick-Fil-A asked if she could bring over supper for the children so I didn’t have to cook. My friend Becky offered to come pick up my mackerdoodle if I needed it (but the snotty nose and barking cough and goopy eyes made me say “thank you, but I won’t subject you to that.”) and my friend Jawan sent me a text planning a trip to see us this summer.

I’m really very blessed. I’m sad that I won’t get to do any of my Wednesday activities tomorrow, and I’m feeling like I’ve been hit by a truck, but I’m surrounded by people who genuinely care for me and want to help. It’s hard to feel sorry for myself when the Lord gives such good gifts, even in the middle of a stomach virus during pregnancy.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

3 responses to “Feeling a Little Sorry for Myself

  • melissa

    Well, though I’m glad you aren’t feeling sorry for yourself, I am feeling sorry for you and so, so wish I could be there. Give hugs to all for me and a really big one to yourself!

    (not so hard – you’re sick.)

  • Tera Montgomery

    Praying for a rapid recovery for you all!

