What’s Changed?

I was washing and sorting baby clothes this morning. I rearranged my family closet so there would be room for the snickerdoodle’s clothes. I’ve vacuumed the nooks and crannies of the crib twice. In the middle of this I tried to take stock, to figure out why I am going through this nesting so strongly this time around, and didn’t with the other two. In fact, I didn’t unpack the mackerdoodle’s clothes until AFTER she was born. My friend Terri set up the bassinet, swing and bouncy chair for me while I was in the hospital after delivering the mackerdoodle. I did manage to do that myself for the cheesedoodle – a day before I was scheduled to be induced.

So what is making this pregnancy different? Why am I feeling the sudden, overwhelming urge to prepare for the arrival of this new life? What is different this time around?

Time.

With the mackerdoodle we were renovating the house until two days *after* her due date. With the cheesedoodle we were teaching until I was 36 weeks pregnant. I wrote this post about being preoccupied with pregnancy at 38 weeks.

This time around I haven’t had anything to draw my focus. I haven’t had the end of a school year, the end of my teaching career, a housing renovation, a visit with family, or anything else to fill in the spaces while the snickerdoodle’s due date crept up. Instead, all I had was the increasing numbers on my calendar marking how many weeks pregnant I am, and the increasing size and decreasing comfort of my body.

Additionally, I am doing this all in a relatively new city. I know that if I was back in Georgia, I would be keeping myself busy with church events and other things. I would have more on my plate, and less time on my hands to worry about things like t-shirts and vacuuming.

In the end, it’s just another example of how this pregnancy is so completely different from my other two. It makes me wonder if the snickerdoodle will be too.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

Comments are disabled.

