What’s a Daddy to Do?

One of the things I love about Aldi is that I can usually  find everything on my list without being bombarded by thousands of distractions – like an overpriced, low  quality toy section.

One of the things I dislike about Aldi is that they will periodically carry random items that don’t appear in their weekly flyer, so the only way to know they’re there is to come across them accidentally.

Monday afternoon I was in Aldi with the mackerdoodle, minding my own business, trying to make sure I had the house stocked with staples for when the baby comes and answering the question, “Oh my! When were you due?” every aisle. Suddenly I was assailed with the sounds of the mackerdoodle saying, “PRINCESS BARBIES! MAMA! PRINCESS BARBIES! PINK PRINCESS BARBIES! CAN I HAVE ONE? PLEASE?!?”

Oh. What to do? They were, in fact actual Barbie dolls with genuine Disney Princess endorsement on the box, but at Aldi prices (ie: half the price of the same doll at Target). But half the price is still a price, and the mackerdoodle’s daddy has a pretty strong opinion about Barbies. So I did what every good woman should do in that circumstance.

“That’s a question for Daddy, sweet girl. You’ll have to ask him.”

Dodged a bullet! By the time we got home she had forgotten about the Barbies.

Wednesday afternoon the entire family was at Aldi because I have pregnancy brain, so this time I brought a list.

ANYWAY! We were back at Aldi, and the second we got into the store, the mackerdoodle’s barbi-dar was activated and she dragged her daddy to the tiny display with remarkable tenacity. I won’t go through the entire discussion. All you need to know is this:

And that’s when the unexpected happened. As the mackerdoodle selected her pink princess barbie, the cheesedoodle, never one to be left out, boldly approached the display and selected a yellow one. Jonathan looked at me in a bit of confusion. “Where are the other toys?” There are, of course, no other toys; no trucks, no action figures, not even a Ken barbie – just princesses and the cheesedoodle has chosen a yellow one and put it in the cart.

So what did his daddy do?

When sharing this with some of his male friends at mid-week, Jonathan received this response from our friend Kevin, who is a PhD candidate in Church History at Berkley (yes. That Berkley.) “Just remember that variation does not necessarily mean deviation.”

We all laughed.

Including Jonathan.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “What’s a Daddy to Do?

  • Jawan

    I am laughing hysterically! What a fun story!

  • Chrissy

    I’m laughing out loud also! I can see this situation in our future. Right now Kaitlin wants to buy Rufus different princess/girl toys so she can have one and he can have one, she also does that with hair bows. Once Rufus starts wanting to do that I can see Chad flat out refusing and making us make another stop to Target or Walmart to buy some kind of manly toy.

  • Jonathan

    I will admit I’ve been pondering about heading to cabela’s to get toy guns just to justify Belle.

  • Terri

    Well, my brother played Barbies with me when we were children. He grew up to be a macho deer hunter/fisherman who plays Barbies with his little girl. Your story also reminds me of Christmas a few years ago when my brother and husband were the ones playing with the Barbies my girls got for Christmas. It was quite amusing to watch them. My dad just shook his head and said, “I can’t believe I’m sitting here watching my grown son and son-in-law play with Barbie dolls.” Who says Barbies are just for girls?

  • 100% Boy. « Life More Abundantly

    […] his owning his very own Barbie, my son is about as boy as they come. If there is the smallest patch of mud anywhere within a seven […]

