24/7 Right Now

There is feeling right now of being always on duty. When the baby is napping during the day, the older doodles need attention and the household chores need to be done. It is an inevitability that the second I sit down to feed the snickerdoodle her brother with either poop or fall down or the mackerdoodle will need her bottom wiped or . . . you get the picture. In between these moments, the trash still needs to go out, the dishes still need to be cleaned, the  laundry needs to be at least washed, and preferably also put away.

In the evening, when the mac and cheese doodles are sleeping off a day of running and playing and general kid delight, the snickerddoodle has taken to cluster feeding for a few hours. It’s far more convenient than the 5-7 pm supper/bedtime window in which a lot of newborns cluster feed, so I’m thankful for that, but it means that once the mac and cheese are asleep I don’t have a window of time in which to do those chores like loading the dishwasher that I have been a accustomed to doing after the supper/bath/bedtime routine is finished.

I am so blessed that the snickerdoodle is already sleeping one 5 hour stretch (generally from 11:30 to 4:30) something that neither of her siblings did for MONTHS, and then falling back to sleep until 7:30 or 8. If she was an only child this would be the perfect arrangement to permit me all the sleep I require. She’s not an only child. Her older siblings are awake between 6:30 and 7.  All of this just leaves me feeling that I am always on, that there’s never a down moment to just let my brain rest.

Understand that I’m not complaining. I got all the “me” time I could stand when I was childless, and I’ll get plenty of “me” time again. This time is fleeting. I’m just observing. It took me two days to write this post. My friend  Jawan posted on my facebook page three days ago and I haven’t sent her a response. These are the little things that fall by the wayside in these early newborn days.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

3 responses to “24/7 Right Now

  • Jawan

    Girl, you know I don’t expect a response….I know that you have little time to do anything outside of your three doodles. I’m excited about coming and helping you out, taking the doodles for a walk while you rest, watching our daughters play together, cooking a meal for you, driving you around on errands, and getting my long-awaited hug and cry out.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Your faithful pals and “followers” understand and will be here waiting and enjoying the observations and other snippets 🙂

  • sharon

    i read this at 2:30 last night….

