A Quote

I read a lot more when I’m nursing a baby. If I sit down to feed the baby without something to keep my brain occupied I get impatient around the 3 minute mark, so I read. Every baby has been different, but this time I was determined to avoid brainless sci-fi, or at least not make that the primary literary diet in this final breast feeding year. At the advice of several of my friends from church I have begun reading Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges. Here is my favorite quote so far:

Our speech, whether it is about others or to others, tends to tear down or build up. It either corrupts the  minds of our  hearers or it gives grace to them.Such is the power of our  words. If I gossip I both tear down another person and corrupt the mind of my listener. If I complain about the circumstances of my life, I impugn the sovereignty of God and goodness of God and tempt my listener to do the same. In this way, my sin “metastasizes” into the heart of another person.   (Chapter 3)

Convicting truth.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

2 responses to “A Quote

