The King’s Speech and the Cheesedoodle

I just watched The King’s Speech. Yes, I’m the 2nd to last person in civilization to see it. Jonathan will be the last. We’re trend setters.

Anyway, I just watched The King’s Speech and it was as excellent as everyone had told me it would be. For one thing, how can you go wrong with Colin Firth? It was also refreshing to see Helena Bonham Carter using her admirable and considerable acting  skills for good instead of weirdness. I was thrilled that Edward (“David” – that confused me for a while) was portrayed as a selfish, weak man instead of the romanticized version of a man forced to resign from his calling for love; and Mrs. Wallace was portrayed in a most unpleasant, yet historically accurate, light.

There was something, however, that really stuck with me about the story itself.

As I watched King George V impatiently commanding his son Bertie to step up and face the microphone like any good Brit would, I heard my own impatience and frustration with my own children. I wonder if some of my anxiety and impatience with the Cheesedoodle’s lack of verbal skills is contributing to the slowness of his verbal development. Referring to him as my non-verbal child in front of him when he can hear me can’t be helpful, and may actually be counter productive and even harmful. I hardly stand over him saying, “Come on boy, spit it out!” but I have been known to say, in frustration, “I don’t know what you want, because you don’t have words!” Am I potentially creating a problem where none should actually exist? Am I planting the idea in his mind that he can’t speak, or that he’s deficient in that area?

It’s easy to watch a movie, or to look back on something in a friend’s past and think “How could they not have known how harmful that would be?” but it’s not so easy, in the moment, as a parent, to look forward in time and know which of our foibles will be irrelevant and which will be indelible.

It is moments like this that I rest in the sovereign Lord, knowing that He has ordained all things. Even a lesson in parenting from The King’s Speech.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

8 responses to “The King’s Speech and the Cheesedoodle

  • Jawan

    Resting in the sovereignty of God is difficult for me, yet extremely freeing. Resting in knowing that all things work together for our good and for HIS glory is comforting, yet that doesn’t take away my worry. What a wretched sinner I am.

  • suzanne

    When I first heard about that movie I thought, “Seriously? A movie about a man who stutters can be *that* good??” And then I saw it. I loved it for all of the reasons you mentioned, especially my surprise at Helena Bonham Carter, whom I’d only seen previously in Harry Potter (as far as I know).

    Anyway, I just wanted to encourage you that there are *lots* of differences between you and King George V in terms of how you talk to your son 🙂 And don’t forget the power of the whole relationship. From the movie portrayal (well, what I remember of it), Bertie and the King’s relationship in general wasn’t good and seemed to hinge negatively on Bertie’s problematic speech. Of course as parents we will do and think and say things that we wish we could immediately take back but no, our children have heard them and we can’t delete those things from their memories. So when you find that has happened, be encouraged that your loving, supportive, Christ-centered relationship with the Cheesedoodle will serve to be powerful in his mind and he won’t be thinking of you as just someone else who pushes him to do things he’s not doing.

  • andreajennine

    If you’re the second to last person to see the movie, I guess that will make me the last once I finally watch it.

  • Tera Montgomery

    Add me to the list of “last people”! It’s on my Netflix list but lower down because Tron came yesterday soon to be followed by Tron Legacy and then a whole bunch of Fringe to catch up on! I wish it was streaming 😦

    Isn’t there a particular history of Cowan boys waiting to talk?

    When I struggle with ideas for AC (which can be frequent) I like to read your blog because it reminds me that there is so much going on right in front of me that I too often miss because of my busyness…some of it that is just cute and some of it that I should be more prayerful of.

    Thank you! 🙂

  • bkickinBecky

    I was thinking about Cdoodle. It’s funny that we say he has no words because that boy HAS WORDS. Maybe you could start saying, “I don’t know what you are trying to say because you won’t USE YOUR WORDS!!!” It might still be questionable parenting (you didn’t ask him if his heart is hard or whatever 🙂 ) BUT you could rest in the fact that you are programming him to believe he cannot talk. It’s like a back door compliment type thing :0

    (Can’t you tell I am a super parent? My black heart makes Jawan’s look gray.)

  • Lollie

    I don’t think you’ve done any real damage. I love the fact that God can use seemingly unrelated things to show us a potentially problematic thing. I think your little Cheesedoodle is young enough that saying he has no words isn’t going to have a lasting effect. Have you tried giving him sign language?

  • Wendy Robinson

    Hello my darling goddaughter. Congratulations on the safe delivery of you last doodle. I was so thinking of my brother who was born with club feet and a shadow on the X-Ray that made them think he had hip displasia. He didn’t have surgery to correct the club feet but he was casted from the waist down. I think the cast acted the same as the gizmo your newest doodle has been wearing.
    When I look at your son’s pictures I see mischieve beaming from his eyes. Rather than using the expression he has no words, I would say to a little girl I babysat-:You need to use your words or I can’t really help you as I don’t understand” Does Doodle#1 know what he wants or can she interpret for him? If so I would say-Honey I know you are trying to help him but if you keep helping him when will he be able to speak for himself. We love you and know you love you borther but could you help him this way-let him talk for himself. If we need you to help us we will let you know.
    Honey you haven’t damaged him. Your love shines like a beacon and he knows you love him.

  • Wendy Robinson

    P.S. I look forward to reading your blog. I check every day to see if there is a new one posted. Yes I hope you are able to continue your story. You are great for a laugh and a pick-me-up which helps me get through some particularly trying new medical issues. They say laughter is the best medicine. You have such a refreshing outlook on things that happen and make me laugh and reflect on how I am not good at self-examination.
    Love you my little girl. Love Auntie Wendy

