Milestones, Discoveries and “Panda”monium.

In her VBS shirt, ready to go.

Last week was the mackerdoodle’s first experience with Vacation Bible School. As you can tell from the look on her face, it was a HUGE success.

I already posted about the cheesedoodle’s first x-ray experience, but what I didn’t know, until late Tuesday afternoon, is that the mackerdoodle had been jealous of his “good fortune” if one can call a severe sprain on a toddler “good.”

The only reason I was able to discover this jealousy is that both older doodles had their first visit to the dentist and being almost four the mackerdoodle had teeth x-rays performed. Being only two, the cheesedoodle did not.

All the way home I heard “I got x-rays of my teeth.” “[Cheesedoodle] got x-rays of his feet, I got x-rays of my teeth.” “He didn’t get x-rays of his teeth.”

Indeed. The x-ray tally in the doodles is all tied up, if you include the snickerdoodle’s hip ultrasounds. Good for them. They also have healthy teeth, which is a little more to the point.

It was an interesting week in more ways than just radioactive imaging. While the mackerdoodle LOVED VBS (Panda Mania was the theme) by Saturday she was completely exhausted. I realized that while I have been wondering about her social and academic abilities for the timing of enrolling her in school, I hadn’t considered her physical abilities. Just what I needed: another consideration in the mix.

"God showed His great big love by sending Christ to die for us, while we were still sinners."

In other firsts, Jonathan and I were first time gushing church parents, when the mackerdoodle joined the other VBS kids in singing for the congregation this Sunday. I took pictures. And video. And smiled encouragingly through the entire thing. It was one of those parent moments that I had looked forward to for so many years, and when it came it was so different, and so much better than I had ever imagined it would be.

Yes. I know how that sounds. Sorry.

 

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

5 responses to “Milestones, Discoveries and “Panda”monium.

  • Sandi

    Hi Coralie – I follow you with an RSS on my phone and am wondering if there is any way you would consider changing from partial to full text feeds. I would love to be able to read the full post without linking through. Thanks!

    • Coralie

      Thanks for letting me know, Sandi. I really thought I had it set to full feed. I HATE having to click through other people’s blogs in my google reader. I’ll work on that today.

  • Jawan

    So happy for her….teeth and all.

  • Carole

    Oh Coralie..she is so like you were at that age…not feature by feature,but still very much her mother’s daughter…Melissa thinks so too

  • Diane

    Oh my Coralie!!! That post made me tear up-I remember taking pictures, videoing, and smiling through all of Sarah and Joshua’s first (VBS, pre-school, AWANA Awards). I cried through the awards ceremony for AWANA this year because it was Sarah’s last! I am glad that Mac enjoyed VBS so much.

