Baby Steps Back to Better Habits

Today I made orange cranberry scones and cooked, shredded and froze two chickens. The snickerdoodle is almost not a newborn any more (my word, when did THAT happen?!?) and as I feel parts of my life beginning to flow back after the stagnant slough of pregnancy, I am re-establishing habits of my life in Georgia. I wondered, as I picked cooked chicken from its carcass and pulled it apart to increase its bulk, why I had lost the “slower food” approach to feeding my family.

The mackerdoodle’s healing from her milk allergy certainly freed me up from the necessity of slower food, as I posted shortly after that discovery, we held on to much of the food habits developed during that time.

It can’t be blamed exclusively on pregnancy either, as I was able to not only cook, but learn to cook, while pregnant with the cheesedoodle.

In the end I have to say that while those two events contributed to my culinary laziness, it was really the move that sealed it. I was in someone else’s kitchen for six weeks, and then hardly settled into my own when I discovered the presence of the snickerdoodle. I didn’t know where to buy things. I didn’t have the same space, or equipment, to do things in the same way as I had done them in Georgia. So because I no longer had the necessity, and was increasingly lacking the stomach and energy, I fell back into bad habits.

I hope to rectify that, and I think today shows that I am making baby steps in the  right direction.

About Coralie

After 11 years of infertility, I am now a mother to three, a wife of a Presbyterian (ARP) preacher and a struggling homemaker. Welcome to my little corner of the net. Kick off your shoes, put your feet up and join the conversation. View all posts by Coralie

One response to “Baby Steps Back to Better Habits

